Website Security

General technological topics without their own forum go here

Website Security

Post by gauravweb on Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:09 pm
([msg=31033]see Website Security[/msg])

I am a student and running a website for my city. I dont know much about website security. Recently I figured out that someone is trying to hack my site using php scripts (my site uses php too). I traced his ip and found it in "Khazakistan" which I'm sure is fake (coz I live in india). However I want to protect my site and also want to learn a lot from you all. So please help me how should I trace who was trying to hack me.?
gauravweb
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Website Security

Post by thedotmaster on Sat Dec 05, 2009 1:32 pm
([msg=31035]see Re: Website Security[/msg])

These attempts happen all the time. In fact, if I look at my logs for the past few days I see:
Code: Select all
[Thu Dec 03 19:24:42 2009] [error] [client 201.234.36.152] File does not exist: /var/www/phpMyAdmin

An attempt to find unsecured phpMyAdmin installations, which proved unsuccessful.
If I whois that IP address, I find it's from Mexico. I'm in the UK and my server is just there so I can show screenshots, code, etc to some friends.

So why are people attacking both you and me? Well, probably because they're part of a botnet that has taken over their computer. But why has their computer been ordered to scan? For sending spam, hosting fraudulent websites, etc.

The simple way to stop these attacks being successful is keep updated and use secure passwords.
thedotmaster
Contributor
Contributor

Blog: View Blog (1)

Post by faazshift on Sat Dec 05, 2009 3:20 pm
([msg=31039]see Re: Website Security[/msg])