Mentor me? mebeh?

A place where newbies can post without (much) fear of reprisal. All mission posts should still go in the applicable forum.
Forum rules
Older HTS users: Be nice to the new people.

NEW USERS: This is NOT the place to post about missions! Refer to "Missions" category.

Mentor me? mebeh?

Post by rmalev91 on Wed Sep 24, 2008 3:28 pm
([msg=12459]see Mentor me? mebeh?[/msg])

Hey everyone. I'm very new here.
Hacking is something I've never done and really never even thought to do before. Even if I wanted to I wouldn't have gotten far.
I'm not good at teaching myself.

Are there any experienced members out there who may be willing to sort "mentor" me? Just help me along and pointing me in the right direction by referencing me to good books and websites where I can learn.

I know that this would taking time out of busy peoples day to do this, but please PM me if you're able to. I'd be very grateful.

I'd prefer if it is a person who is able to complete most, if not all, of the missions.

Thank you!
rmalev91
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Mentor me? mebeh?

Post by not_you on Wed Sep 24, 2008 6:06 pm
([msg=12479]see Re: Mentor me? mebeh?[/msg])

First up, not many people can complete ALL of the missions because that would involve hacking this site (literaly). There comes a point where so many people have done so, that it is almost imposible to get in (there con only be so many flaws ;) ). However there are many people here that are well qualified to teach you. I know that ~thedotmaster~ was offering to teach people a while back. PM him and ask if he still is.

As far as what books / websites to use. This is the best site that I have found. I have not had a chance to try www.rootthisbox.org since it has been offline, but I imagine that it would also be a good site.