The browser hacker's handbook

Discussion about particular books go here.
Forum rules
Please make title book name & author.
Books about computers or hacking get stickied

The browser hacker's handbook

Post by defaultName on Wed Apr 06, 2016 8:42 am
([msg=92093]see The browser hacker's handbook[/msg])

Hi, I'm kind of new to the hacking world. I actually have a pretty solid background in the IT field, yet I wanted to learn more about hacking in the real world.

Well, what about The browser hacker's handbook? I don't know if it is a good start, but I want to learn concepts from a to z and it seems to cover every bit of the subjects (obviously regarding browser attacks).
I picked the browser hacking since I've found this book but I am open to every branch of hacking, just looking for point where to start.

Just please leave a feedback or a suggestion, thanks!
defaultName
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: The browser hacker's handbook

Post by Jbraithwaite on Wed Apr 06, 2016 2:33 pm
([msg=92096]see Re: The browser hacker's handbook[/msg])

Hey there,

I'm an IT sys admin myself and kind of accelerated into the field this year. I'd say to give the missions on the homepage a try. They are actually really good practice in web application testing. I've found the web stuff interesting, however, as you say there is a vast amount of subject areas in hacking.

If books are you thing then this wee list could help you out.

Web Application Hackers handbook 2
Hackers Playbook 2
Gray Hat Hacking
Red Team Field Manual
Web Penetration Testing using Kali Linux.

Just a few of the ones I have and sometimes I just can't tear myself away from them. Consolidate your reading with practical as much as you can and as legally as you can too lol.

For testing systems you can download a VM image called Metasploitable that has a multitude of uses. Also check out Damn Vulnerable Web App, that's also really helpful too. Comes with the Dojo VM.

Hope that helps.
In training....