NooB here!

Discuss how to write good code, break bad code, your current pet projects, or the best way to approach novel problems

NooB here!

Post by cyberpirate on Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:46 pm
([msg=35981]see NooB here![/msg])

Hello everyone. I want to get into the security + for computers and the IT guys at my job told me to go for programming first.

I know there is C++ and Java and such, so which should I begin learning?
We shall win as a team, or die as individuals.
cyberpirate
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: NooB here!

Post by sanddbox on Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:51 pm
([msg=35982]see Re: NooB here![/msg])

cyberpirate wrote:Hello everyone. I want to get into the security + for computers and the IT guys at my job told me to go for programming first.

Learn Java first; it's high-level and it will teach you good OOP concepts without making you have to worry about memory (it has automated garbage collection). After that, you can gradually learn more languages and gravitate towards lower-level languages.

HTS User Composition:
95% Male
4.98% Female
.01% Monica
.01% Goat
sanddbox
Expert
Expert

Post by cyberpirate on Thu Mar 04, 2010 6:07 am
([msg=36087]see Re: NooB here![/msg])

Awesome! I'll start with Java first like you said. Thanks a lot!
cyberpirate
New User
New User

Post by insomaniacal on Thu Mar 04, 2010 6:46 am
([msg=36092]see Re: NooB here![/msg])

I'll make a case for the other end of the spectrum :D

Learning C or C++ first will probably give you a better understanding of programing concepts, since it forces you to delve a bit deeper than something like Java. However, Java would certainly be easier to learn if it's your first language.
It's not who votes that counts, it's who counts the votes
insomaniacal.blog.com
insomaniacal
Addict
Addict

Post by cyberpirate on Thu Mar 04, 2010 8:06 pm
([msg=36125]see Re: NooB here![/msg])