I am unable to start my OS. Could you tell me why?

There are many different operating systems; which one will you choose?

I am unable to start my OS. Could you tell me why?

Post by Ragna_RocK on Sat Feb 21, 2015 4:46 am
([msg=86847]see I am unable to start my OS. Could you tell me why?[/msg])

Hello,

I have no deep knowledge about computers so the answer to this problem may be an easy one. That being said, I didn't want to post a silly question, so everytime that I find a problem, I just look it up on Startpage/forums. You have already helped me several times this way, although I haven't found a solution to this one, so:

I run Windows Vista. I practise with a Kali live CD but I wanted to have a persistent kali USB. So, as long as the tutorials on the internet that I have found say, there were two methods: The easiest one for me was to boot with my liveCD and instead of choosing "Kali live CD", I chosed "Graphical Install". I did everything as asked and after the installation I had my 32gb usb ready with my persistent Kali... Or so I thought. When I try to boot my Netbook (an old Dell 910 mini with Windows XP) it appears a black screen with a command line prompt. And that's it.

I mean it. I have found other posts of people who have got a similar problem, but they can type, or they see things written before the command line prompt, or they see an X in the middle of the screen or they see a blinking cursor... None of these is my case. I see a command line prompt in a black screen, and I am unable of typing anything on it.

I have cleaned the USB and installed the OS a second time. The problem appears again and the ISO was downloaded from the official kali site so I don't know what to do.

If this problem was solved before, I apologize for asking, although I have been looking for it thoroughly, I assure you.