LAN IP's

Data that travels over the air and how to protect (or decipher) it

LAN IP's

Post by GustavoVC on Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:33 pm
([msg=55229]see LAN IP's[/msg])

How can i get the IP of all computer connected on my LAN network ??
GustavoVC
New User
New User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:37 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: LAN IP's

Post by Phantom Wolf on Fri Mar 18, 2011 10:46 pm
([msg=55230]see Re: LAN IP's[/msg])

Look in your router's configuration for something like "DHCP clients" or "attached devices".
"Well it isn't my fault. I shouldn't have been allowed to do something to crash it." "No, you shouldn't have been allowed to buy a computer in the first place"
Phantom Wolf
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:45 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: LAN IP's

Post by GustavoVC on Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:18 pm
([msg=55231]see Re: LAN IP's[/msg])

Phantom Wolf wrote:Look in your router's configuration for something like "DHCP clients" or "attached devices".

is there any way to do that by CMD ?
GustavoVC
New User
New User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:37 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: LAN IP's

Post by Phantom Wolf on Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:21 pm
([msg=55232]see Re: LAN IP's[/msg])

Probably, but I don't know of any. Generally, to access your router's configuration you'd go to a website, probably http://192.168.1.0/ or http://192.168.1.1/

Why do you need a list of client IPs?
"Well it isn't my fault. I shouldn't have been allowed to do something to crash it." "No, you shouldn't have been allowed to buy a computer in the first place"
Phantom Wolf
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:45 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: LAN IP's

Post by GustavoVC on Fri Mar 18, 2011 11:26 pm
([msg=55233]see Re: LAN IP's[/msg])

Phantom Wolf wrote:Probably, but I don't know of any. Generally, to access your router's configuration you'd go to a website, probably http://192.168.1.0/ or http://192.168.1.1/

Why do you need a list of client IPs?

just for fun with my home mates :)
GustavoVC
New User
New User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2011 9:37 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: LAN IP's

Post by OnlyHuman on Sat Mar 19, 2011 1:23 am
([msg=55235]see Re: LAN IP's[/msg])

It's possible to do it from the command line. If you increment the last octet of the IP, you could do a basic ping sweep using a batch script. But, that would only be successful for systems that are currently accepting and replying to ICMP echo requests (a.k.a. pings). And it would be a bit time consuming executing the ping command 253 times. Much more successful are TCP, UDP, SYN, NULL or XMAS-TREE scans. But they all require access to raw sockets, which unless I just haven't discovered the feature yet, aren't supported by the native Windows command prompt. In Linux, bash can give you access to stream sockets, but those don't allow for low enough control for these types of scans either. You really need the raw sockets here. But, if you don't feel like coding the scanner yourself, another alternative, is to just use a pre-existing one, like nmap. You can get a few extra host details that way too.

UPDATE: Well lookie ~>here<~! Apparently pinging your broadcast address serves to make that batch idea above, even more time consuming and useless. Again, same principle applies for hosts that don't response to ICMP echo though. Plus some instructions for that sweep with nmap I mentioned too.
OnlyHuman
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Aug 22, 2009 1:37 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: LAN IP's

Post by jgreen45 on Sat Mar 19, 2011 1:00 pm
([msg=55248]see Re: LAN IP's[/msg])

Or you could download nmap and run
Code: Select all
Nmap -sP 192.168.xx.1-99


Where xx is your subnet, e.g mine is
Code: Select all
Nmap -sP 192.168.2.1-99


The -sP option is a ping scan, if you want to use a syn scan like Onlyhuman said use the -sS option. I didn't go up to 255 due to the fact I doubt that you will have 255 computers connected to your network ;).

EDIT: just noticed the link, damn you for getting there first.
I can't come to bed...
Someone is WRONG on the internet


http://xkcd.com/386/
User avatar
jgreen45
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:18 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: LAN IP's

Post by Phantom Wolf on Sat Mar 19, 2011 2:55 pm
([msg=55252]see Re: LAN IP's[/msg])

OnlyHuman wrote:UPDATE: Well lookie ~>here<~! Apparently pinging your broadcast address serves to make that batch idea above, even more time consuming and useless. Again, same principle applies for hosts that don't response to ICMP echo though. Plus some instructions for that sweep with nmap I mentioned too.

I don't think Windows machines will respond to pings on the broadcast address. Other devices might not either.
EDIT: My router catches pings to the broadcast address and doesn't send them out, his might too, but it's still worth a try.
jgreen45 wrote:Where xx is your subnet, e.g mine is
Code: Select all
Nmap -sP 192.168.2.1-99

How about this?
Code: Select all
nmap -sP 192.168.2.*
"Well it isn't my fault. I shouldn't have been allowed to do something to crash it." "No, you shouldn't have been allowed to buy a computer in the first place"
Phantom Wolf
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 271
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 8:45 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: LAN IP's

Post by Assassian360 on Sat Mar 19, 2011 5:40 pm
([msg=55254]see Re: LAN IP's[/msg])

When I want connceted IPs on the windows command line I just use:
Code: Select all
arp -a


This will display all IPs for which your computer can determine a MAC address, but if all you are wanting is local addresses.
There are 1 or more interfaces that may appear in the list. Look for the ones that start with your subnet (eg, 192.168.2.*) and all of those except for 192.168.2.255 (the broadcast address for all computers on your subnet), and 192.168.2.1 (this may actually be one of the addresses if the routers default IP has been changed. But it is likely just the IP of the router.). All remaining IPs with your subnet are ones connected to your local network.
Assassian360
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:37 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: LAN IP's

Post by jgreen45 on Sat Mar 19, 2011 5:56 pm
([msg=55255]see Re: LAN IP's[/msg])

Phantom Wolf wrote:
jgreen45 wrote:Where xx is your subnet, e.g mine is
Code: Select all
Nmap -sP 192.168.2.1-99

How about this?
Code: Select all
nmap -sP 192.168.2.*


Yeah, that would work also, but the reason I only went to 99 is that I doubt that the OP has more than 99 computers on his network, and so searching the whole 255 addresses would be pointless.
I can't come to bed...
Someone is WRONG on the internet


http://xkcd.com/386/
User avatar
jgreen45
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 6:18 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Next

Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests