Page 1 of 4

ExtBasic 13

PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 11:45 pm
by droptable
I am submitting the answer in the form:
[Edited by: Defience]

Is this the correct way? I am pretty sure I know what the answer is, and I tested it with my own php script but the page won't accept it.

Re: ExtBasic 13

PostPosted: Sun Feb 15, 2009 10:54 pm
by dsurge
kinda stuck a little on this one...

unless i'm missing something, the idea has to do with why m_r_e_s isnt always fool-proof.

and the other possibility has to do with how the script is put together (i.e. validation is sometimes pointless if the script has logical flaws)

i guess what i'm looking for is either "you have the right idea" or "you're out in left field homie"

thanks in advance

Re: ExtBasic 13

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:46 am
by Defience
dsurge wrote:kinda stuck a little on this one...

unless i'm missing something, the idea has to do with why m_r_e_s isnt always fool-proof.

and the other possibility has to do with how the script is put together (i.e. validation is sometimes pointless if the script has logical flaws)

i guess what i'm looking for is either "you have the right idea" or "you're out in left field homie"

thanks in advance


You have the right idea.

Re: ExtBasic 13

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2009 3:18 pm
by jeratt
Can I please have some more clues?
Does it have to do with omitting data?

Re: ExtBasic 13

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 10:36 am
by gareththegeek
The first line (if statement) seems to be wrong, couple of mistakes. Or is it my mistake?

Re: ExtBasic 13

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:19 am
by jeratt
gareththegeek wrote:The first line (if statement) seems to be wrong, couple of mistakes. Or is it my mistake?

Yeah. I ran it on my localhost, and it gave me an error.
I had to change:
Code: Select all
if ((!isset($_GET['name']) || (!isset($_GET['email'])) {

To:
Code: Select all
if ((!isset($_GET['name'])) || (!isset($_GET['email']))) {


Notice the missing parentheses?

Re: ExtBasic 13

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:36 am
by dsurge
i noticed it as well. figured it was just a way to try to trip people up. unless i'm mistaken, i dont think it has much to do with the mission

to add to that, for those who threw the script on their own server to play with it, doesnt it seem like it doesnt really do what it looks like its trying to do from a practical standpoint (compare the result of a query to one of the input variables)?

Re: ExtBasic 13

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2009 11:43 am
by Defience
Keep in mind that the first line was added after the mission was already posted.

Re: ExtBasic 13

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:45 am
by gareththegeek
I don't understand this challenge, as I looked at the code it seemed too easy but my answers weren't accepted.

So I put the script on my own server and there are loads of ways to get it to reply '1'. Have I missed something here?

Is the first line meant to read
Code: Select all
if (isset($_GET['name']) && isset($_GET['email'])) {


Cheers
G

Re: ExtBasic 13

PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 10:14 am
by Defience
Don't forget that the filename is included for a reason.