Mission 1 - Word Scramble [Completed]

Put your programming skills to the test in these challenges.

Mission 1 - Word Scramble [Completed]

Post by aConvolutedConscious on Sat May 20, 2017 7:19 am
([msg=93714]see Mission 1 - Word Scramble [Completed][/msg])

I just started programming again after a 16 year hiatus. I had only built a couple of programs in VB, had done some work with PHP, and a little with Javascript. So, for the last week I've been all over the web reading Javascript tutorials and such, trying to learn how the basics work. It took me at least a week to build this simple script that unscrambles words! (I'm very proud of myself at the moment!) I love that feeling when all the stars line up. You know what I mean!

I took the master list and split it up, writing it to a web page and copying it back into the script itself to set it up as an array. Then I pulled the scrambled words from the list items on the fly. I broke it down to the bare brass and then put it all back together and propagated it to the input form by running the script in ScratchPad.

*For my key list I assigned each alphanumeric character a unique key {0: a, 1: b, ... 26: 0, 27: 1, 28: 2} etc...
To get unique values for each word I took the ASCII value of each letter from the word and multiplied it by the key, then I subtracted that result from the key, and then added those values to get the total (unique) value for each word. When I compared the scrambled word values to the unscrambled ones I came up with unique matches for each word. It worked the first time! (like I said though, it took me about a week to get to that point - submitting the results was the easy part).

I was thinking I'd like to make an article regarding my methods - without giving the code up directly.

However, if you have already completed the mission and would like to exchange code, I'd love to see what you came up with!

Happy Hackin'!

This mission taught me a lot!
aConvolutedConscious
New User
New User