Copy to notepad

General technological topics without their own forum go here

Copy to notepad

Post by clay_sam75 on Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:20 pm
([msg=60712]see Copy to notepad[/msg])

Hi guys,

Im relatively new to this and have started needing to change the html codes in some of the basic challenges. Im pretty sure you cant change the code within the "Inspect element" section of the page. So I need to know how to copy sections of the code or the entire code into notepad to change it. Any help would be very much appreciated.

Many thanks
clay_sam75
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Copy to notepad

Post by tremor77 on Tue Aug 09, 2011 1:23 pm
([msg=60713]see Re: Copy to notepad[/msg])

Depending on your browser of course... I tend to use FF so I just right click within the page, hit view page source, which opens up in the FF source browser. I then right click, hit select all, then right click again, select copy.

Here is where is gets interesting. I then open up Notepad++ (you should have this instead of plain old notepad) - I then right click in a new blank document, and click paste.
tremor77
Addict
Addict

Post by MrAlphaRogue on Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:38 pm
([msg=60754]see Re: Copy to notepad[/msg])

The best way to learn is to search for these answers yourself by utilizing a search engine such as Google. (Google is your friend.) Although people will be willing to help here, you will probably retain the information better if you put more effort into finding the answers to your issue. Worst case scenario, you at least learn how to search for answers.

Anywho. Because I am in a good mood, I will make it very simple for you.

Step 1: Go to the desired website.
Step 2: ctrl u to open the source code. (Alternatively, go to the top of your browser and hit 'view' then 'page source'
Step 3: ctrl a (Or right click and select all)
Step 4: ctrl c (Or right click and Copy)
Step 5: Open Notepad
Step 6: ctrl v (Or right click and Paste)