Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine

What's the best way to setup a home network? Why should I care about BGP?

Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine

Post by thotheolh on Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:17 am
([msg=54835]see Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine[/msg])

Hi. I have a Windows XP running inside a virtual machine (VMWare). How should I use NMAP to target the ports inside the virtualized XP ? Could someone suggest some ways to achieve this ? The host computer is a Debian 6. On linux terminal, it shows vmnet1 and vmnet8 in the ifconfig.
thotheolh
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:57 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine

Post by Goatboy on Wed Mar 09, 2011 4:44 am
([msg=54838]see Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine[/msg])

You should be able to see the IP information for the vmnet networks. Scan against those ranges.
Assume that everything I say is or could be a lie.
1UHQ15HqBRZFykqx7mKHpYroxanLjJcUk
User avatar
Goatboy
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2816
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:35 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine

Post by JwLee on Wed May 04, 2011 9:29 pm
([msg=56997]see Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine[/msg])

First, you have to get the ip address of the virtual xp. If you assume you can't get it, you should at least know the network address. Suppose that, your vnet1's ip is 192.168.32.1 and vnet8's ip is 192.168.38.1, you can scan 192.168.32.1/24 and 192.168.38.1/4. The virtual xp should be in the scan result.
JwLee
New User
New User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 9:22 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine

Post by spyworld on Fri May 13, 2011 8:15 pm
([msg=57380]see Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine[/msg])

Vmware default Network adapter is NAT is VMnet8. Just target on VMnet8. Nmap can detect all the port and ip adress torgether.

I also try it before.
spyworld
New User
New User
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 7:32 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine

Post by dist0rted on Wed Jun 22, 2011 3:46 am
([msg=58820]see Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine[/msg])

Or install nmap on the XP machine and do it locally aka 127.0.0.1

It'd probably be much easier this way if you're having issues.
All knowledge is good; only the way it is put into action can be good or evil. - An ape from the original Planet of the Apes

Feel free to PM
User avatar
dist0rted
New User
New User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 4:58 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine

Post by fashizzlepop on Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:02 am
([msg=58826]see Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine[/msg])

dist0rted wrote:Or install nmap on the XP machine and do it locally aka 127.0.0.1

It'd probably be much easier this way if you're having issues.

But then he wouldn't be doing a remote scan, which is obviously what he's trying to replicate.
The glass is neither half-full nor half-empty; it's merely twice as big as it needs to be.
User avatar
fashizzlepop
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 2303
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 1:20 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine

Post by dist0rted on Wed Jun 22, 2011 4:07 am
([msg=58828]see Re: Executing Network Scan against a Virtual Machine[/msg])

fashizzlepop wrote:
dist0rted wrote:Or install nmap on the XP machine and do it locally aka 127.0.0.1

It'd probably be much easier this way if you're having issues.

But then he wouldn't be doing a remote scan, which is obviously what he's trying to replicate.


Agreed. But I know how many hours of my life I've wasted just to get things done exactly how I wanted them to be instead of the more efficient way to accomplish the long-term goal. That post was more a reminder than a literal suggestion.

The ports will be open locally or remotely if you configure the scan and OS correctly.
All knowledge is good; only the way it is put into action can be good or evil. - An ape from the original Planet of the Apes

Feel free to PM
User avatar
dist0rted
New User
New User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 4:58 am
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron