How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?

Bad threads go here

How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?

Post by randyjones717 on Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:47 pm
([msg=46865]see How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?[/msg])

I have googled everywhere and only find articles about installing BT4 on a VM with windows, I need to know how to install virtual machine on BT4 to run windows as a VM within BT4. I know it is based on ubuntu and need to install DKMS, because that is the error I get when trying to run the Windows VM within BT4. I did a "apt-get install dkms" because I read a article about installing virtual machine OSE on ubuntu and others having that error but when I do that command on BT4 is says

"Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.

Since you only requested a single operation it is extremely likely that
the package is simply not installable and a bug report against
that package should be filed.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
dkms: Depends: linux-headers but it is not installable
E: Broken packages"

has anyone used virtual box on BT4? how did you get it too work? thanks

-- Sat Oct 02, 2010 10:45 am --

ANYBODY PLEASE!!!! :)
randyjones717
New User
New User
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 6:46 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?

Post by conscience on Sat Jun 18, 2011 6:20 pm
([msg=58706]see Re: How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?[/msg])

Not as if it would be that much of help, but I run Win98SE on Bochs
Let him who has understanding recount the number of the beast, for it is a human number: His number is 0x029A.
conscience
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 248
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 9:05 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?

Post by JoeyPardella on Sun Jun 19, 2011 2:55 am
([msg=58724]see Re: How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?[/msg])

hey randyjones,

i don't know if this is an option for you but here:
www.vmware.com

they have the vmware player also for linux. regarding the windows itself, you'll need an .iso or a premade .vmx

hope this helps a bit
JoeyPardella
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 8:43 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?

Post by Shaldivar on Sun Jun 19, 2011 4:59 am
([msg=58727]see Re: How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?[/msg])

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtua ... nload.aspx

link related.
It's what I use, runs XP on Windows 7 through Windows Virtual Machine; not quite what you want but close.
Shaldivar
New User
New User
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 2:23 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?

Post by fashizzlepop on Sun Jun 19, 2011 5:22 am
([msg=58728]see Re: How do I use Win XP in a virtual machine in BT4?[/msg])

Not at all related.

Anyways, the OP is probably long gone. This thread is quite old.
The glass is neither half-full nor half-empty; it's merely twice as big as it needs to be.
User avatar
fashizzlepop
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 2303
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 1:20 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Graveyard

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron