Home Networking

What's the best way to setup a home network? Why should I care about BGP?

Home Networking

Post by sgtscream2 on Thu Apr 17, 2008 1:32 pm
([msg=568]see Home Networking[/msg])

so ive got two computers that i want to network that at one point were hooked up to a DSL modem, I later got a comcast high speed modem and hooked it up to one computer, leaving the other offline. i got a belkin network addaptor and have attempted numerous times to link the two systems together. the system currently online is a Gatway running Windows XP, and the offline one is a HP also running XP. the networking equipment works because ive used it on my xbox, but for some reason it will not work on the HP. if anyone knows what to do could you please let me know. feel free to email me at
silent-ghost@live.com
sgtscream2
New User
New User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 8:24 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Home Networking

Post by Jesus_of_Suburbia on Sun Apr 20, 2008 5:03 am
([msg=783]see Re: Home Networking[/msg])

Well, i refuse to answer a post with an e-mail...

but i do have some questions,

Do both have RJ-45 Lan Adapters?

Are you trying to plug them into a Router/Hub?

If not, are you using a crossover cable?
Jesus_of_Suburbia
New User
New User
 
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2008 3:45 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Home Networking

Post by bartuuin on Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:21 am
([msg=30600]see Re: Home Networking[/msg])

Even if the belkin router works I recommend switching over to a netgear router because from my experience it is not only easier to use but is also far more secure.If you still want to use the belkin router use the installation cd on the hp.Also if it is wireless encrypt it with a min of wap I recommend wpa 2 though.Also change the default login password.
bartuuin
New User
New User
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:31 am
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron