Books to get me started

Discussion about particular books go here.
Forum rules
Please make title book name & author.
Books about computers or hacking get stickied

Books to get me started

Post by rschl02 on Mon Sep 03, 2012 4:00 pm
([msg=69110]see Books to get me started[/msg])

Hey guys, I was hoping you could help me out. I've been browsing the books suggested in the forum and checked a few of them out, but most of them are a bit too complicated for me. I'm completely new to this. I'm great at navigating through computers and figuring out how to work them, but not so great at figuring out how they work at a basic level. (The programming, essentially.) Are there any good books that you might suggest for a complete beginner in how computers work? A "Programming for dummies" type thing? (Although I'm sure that's a real book...)
rschl02
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Books to get me started

Post by ghost107 on Mon Sep 03, 2012 6:07 pm
([msg=69111]see Re: Books to get me started[/msg])

On programming Start learning C and continue with C++:
2 good Books that I found are:
Teach yourself C in 21 days http://kldp.org/files/c+in+21+days.pdf
Teach yourself C++ in 21 days http://newdata.box.sk/bx/c/

The good thing about these books are, they have a program analysis, quiz and exercises at the end of each chapter. That will help you improve your skills. Learning C and C++ will make you understand other programming languages much easier, even ASM.

After finishing Teach yourself C in 21 days"(or before classes and objects in Teach yourself C++ in 21 days) you could read about Data Structures and Algorithms(Lists, Queues, Stacks, Heaps, Graphs, Trees, Sorting, Searching, Path Finding, etc).

On Networking you should learn networking from the basics, and after that the OSI model(all 7 layers):
- Introduction to networking(bits, bytes, base conversion, IP, Netmask)