Book Recommendations?

Discussion about particular books go here.
Forum rules
Please make title book name & author.
Books about computers or hacking get stickied

Book Recommendations?

Post by QSpec on Wed Aug 08, 2012 2:22 am
([msg=68635]see Book Recommendations?[/msg])

In short, I am interested in learning everything I can about the computer. I start school in a few weeks studying Computer Science, and this will hopefully give me a good base of knowledge. That said, I am hoping for a bit more as college educations can be a bit thin at times.

I also have a degree in Philosophy with an emphasis on Logic (and language). I mention this because I understand that more than superficial knowledge is something that takes time and work. I am willing to put it in.

Keep in mind that I am a beginner, but any computer topic is fair game: architecture, programming, security, networking, etc.

I really appreciate any time you spend on this. Any other advice, I'm fair game.

PS:
Also, can someone PM me and explain Mission 7 to me? I have read up on it, but I don't get it. Unix commands in Windows?
QSpec
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Book Recommendations?

Post by WallShadow on Wed Aug 08, 2012 10:07 am
([msg=68638]see Re: Book Recommendations?[/msg])

The Books sub-forum is dedicated exclusively to featuring books for you and me. Go ahead and look through it briefly. As for mission 7, there are no Unix commands on Windows, Unix and Windows are two different operating systems with significantly different command line methods.

The following may give you an idea of what to do:
https://www.owasp.org/index.php/Command_Injection
WallShadow
Contributor
Contributor

Post by illusion_ on Thu Aug 09, 2012 2:35 pm
([msg=68648]see Re: Book Recommendations?[/msg])

QSpec wrote:PS:
Also, can someone PM me and explain Mission 7 to me? I have read up on it, but I don't get it. Unix commands in Windows?