Greetings from a total n00b

A place where newbies can post without (much) fear of reprisal. All mission posts should still go in the applicable forum.
Forum rules
Older HTS users: Be nice to the new people.

NEW USERS: This is NOT the place to post about missions! Refer to "Missions" category.

Greetings from a total n00b

Post by hemlock on Tue Dec 18, 2012 2:02 am
([msg=71765]see Greetings from a total n00b[/msg])

I'm new at hacking/penetration testing.

I was wondering if I could get pointed in the right direction on some books/tutorials/websites to check out. I want to learn a programming language and start working in Linux. I eventually would like to be able to operate software like Metasploit. I'd love to be knowledgeable enough to use everything on the PwnPhone.

Christmas is around the corner and I was going to start with a book and installing Linux (recommendations on install version?) on my old computer.

Thanks!
hemlock
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Greetings from a total n00b

Post by Cerebral Bore on Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:48 am
([msg=71767]see Re: Greetings from a total n00b[/msg])

Dont know what version of GNU~Linux you are looking for but my self for desktop use it tend to like this one.

cinnamon ~ linux mint
And a link to some pdfs to help you on your way.
introduction-to-hacking
Mint is nice too, their close to what windows xp is like GUI wise and that's probably why i like em.
Their all so live boot so their useful for fixing broken computers as long as you still have a working DVD-rom drive on the computer in question everything works including but not limited to high speed internet with a web browser.
The default firewall still blows though imho.
Rescue cds are a pile of suck.
Nothing fixes problems faster then a format the pile with "kill-disk" or something like it.

Ps password part sucks in cinnamon ~ linux mint,i know its good for security and all but it still blows.