Anyone ever used BRUTUS?

A place where newbies can post without (much) fear of reprisal. All mission posts should still go in the applicable forum.
Forum rules
Older HTS users: Be nice to the new people.

NEW USERS: This is NOT the place to post about missions! Refer to "Missions" category.

Anyone ever used BRUTUS?

Post by elisemeyer25 on Wed Apr 30, 2008 6:24 pm
([msg=1775]see Anyone ever used BRUTUS?[/msg])

Can anyone tell me how to use the program BRUTUS? I finally have it downloaded, but it's really complicated to someone who only kind of knows what they're doing!
elisemeyer25
New User
New User
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 7:44 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?

Post by DoTTiE on Fri May 23, 2008 6:06 am
([msg=3081]see Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?[/msg])

Brutus tutorial...

http://giblee.googlepages.com/brutus.txt

it was the first result when i typed 'how to use brutus' into google

hopefully that helps

DoTTiE
DoTTiE
DoTTiE
New User
New User
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:48 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?

Post by bjvanwash on Sat May 24, 2008 3:53 am
([msg=3134]see Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?[/msg])

In my opinion, I've never really had any success with Brutus. Anytime I tried to brute force something, I always ended up seeing days, weeks, or even years of waiting (according to Brutus). Normally I'm a patient person, but not that patient. :roll:
bjvanwash
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:13 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?

Post by ELorenz on Tue May 27, 2008 5:53 pm
([msg=3365]see Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?[/msg])

The reason you see those lengths of time for brute forcing encryption is because the value of an algorithm is determined by its' ability to take longer to brute force than the length of time the information is useful.
ELorenz
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:50 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?

Post by Rijnzael on Wed May 28, 2008 2:51 am
([msg=3391]see Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?[/msg])

I wouldn't suggest using Brutus in the first place. For one, you have to know exactly what you're doing to configure it if the target site isn't protected by HTTP basic or digest auth. Secondly, all your attempts traverse the network and are very noticeable to anyone who might be looking. Thirdly, any competent system administrator will see prolonged attempts at doing this and will either lock you out using filtering, or attempt to contact your service provider if they have that information.
Rijnzael
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:12 am
Location: 128.0.0.0/8
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?

Post by bjvanwash on Thu May 29, 2008 2:24 am
([msg=3470]see Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?[/msg])

Rijnzael wrote:I wouldn't suggest using Brutus in the first place. For one, you have to know exactly what you're doing to configure it if the target site isn't protected by HTTP basic or digest auth. Secondly, all your attempts traverse the network and are very noticeable to anyone who might be looking. Thirdly, any competent system administrator will see prolonged attempts at doing this and will either lock you out using filtering, or attempt to contact your service provider if they have that information.

What would you suggest then?
bjvanwash
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 1:13 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?

Post by jetbackwards on Sun Jun 01, 2008 11:51 am
([msg=3899]see Re: Anyone ever used BRUTUS?[/msg])

bjvanwash wrote:What would you suggest then?

I would definitely avoid any brute-forcing over a network - you will stick out like a sore thumb.
Why use a battering ram on the front door when a window is wide open?
jetbackwards
New User
New User
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 5:16 am
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to NZone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests