I need help with CMD

A place where newbies can post without (much) fear of reprisal. All mission posts should still go in the applicable forum.
Forum rules
Older HTS users: Be nice to the new people.

NEW USERS: This is NOT the place to post about missions! Refer to "Missions" category.

I need help with CMD

Post by GH05T_LE on Sat Jun 21, 2014 6:27 pm
([msg=81580]see I need help with CMD[/msg])

i'm sorry if this is on the wrong boards. I'm new to hacking and to this site. completely new like i just started learning yesterday. i started learning some command lines for the Command Prompt. one was the netstat. it worked yesterday when i tried to find open ports from my dad's ip address but now when i do it, it shows my ip address even though i specifically typed in his. does anyone know whats going on?
GH05T_LE
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: I need help with CMD

Post by cyberdrain on Sat Jun 21, 2014 6:58 pm
([msg=81583]see Re: I need help with CMD[/msg])

Netstat shows the NETwork STATistics, so if your computer isn't connected to your dad's pc, it will not show that IP-address. It doesn't matter whether or not his computer is actually on-line. A better way to check for other computer available on the network is using a port scanner (e.g. Nmap) or just PING them all. You need to create a bat script to do the latter however. Another way would be to access the router.

Note that you can use netstat to easily find which programs use which connections over the network and Internet, which is what it was designed for. It can also be used to check routing tables, network interfaces and network protocols used for the connections. Have fun! ;)

Edit: Also, perfectly posted. My only comment; be more strict in punctuation if you can. And of course, welcome to HTS.
Free your mind / Think clearly
cyberdrain
Contributor
Contributor

Post by GH05T_LE on Sat Jun 21, 2014 7:26 pm
([msg=81588]see Re: I need help with CMD[/msg])