Author Question

A place where newbies can post without (much) fear of reprisal. All mission posts should still go in the applicable forum.
Forum rules
Older HTS users: Be nice to the new people.

NEW USERS: This is NOT the place to post about missions! Refer to "Missions" category.

Author Question

Post by skidawayme on Wed May 21, 2014 8:41 pm
([msg=80874]see Author Question[/msg])

Hi Everyone:

I'm a writer who, luckily, I believe, ended up here while researching wi-fi hacking for my new thriller. I've read the newbie posts but still am a little overwhelmed by this site and hoping someone can point me in the right direction. Basically, my protagonist wants to hack into the security system of a 35-story building and be able to see everything in real time through existing cameras. He also wants to piggy-back new, hidden cameras in sensitive areas onto the existing system. He has an office in the building.

Unfortunately, the more I read about wi-fi and the technologies involved, the more daunting this seems. I'm not a technical person and, tho interested in the subject, I'm also facing a deadline. I need to learn enough to be convincing on paper but probably not enough to actually put anything into practice.

If someone could suggest where to begin and/or a methodology of search, I'd be very grateful.