Anyone have some free time to help with a school game?

A place where newbies can post without (much) fear of reprisal. All mission posts should still go in the applicable forum.
Forum rules
Older HTS users: Be nice to the new people.

NEW USERS: This is NOT the place to post about missions! Refer to "Missions" category.

Anyone have some free time to help with a school game?

Post by brinks56 on Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:05 am
([msg=75335]see Anyone have some free time to help with a school game?[/msg])

I am a second year CS student and my Security class is playing a penetration game this semester. Each team has their own linux machine on a common network and the objective is to escalate our privileges on the other teams machines. I have a basic user account for all the teams and most teams have restricted shells set up. Our teacher will not provide us with any guidance or resources, but we are allowed to use any resources available outside of school. This includes asking for help from people with experience. I have little linux experience going into this and I have taught myself some script writing. My main problem is I have no idea how to write the script on my machine and then run it on a remote machine. I also have a team leader who is root and has restricted the privileges for the rest of our team so we cannot install any tools to use. I only have nmap and a c compiler. I have searched the internet for the last few weeks and I cant find a good tutorial. Is there anyone who would want to mentor me, or at least be willing to answer some questions via email or pm? I dont have any cash, (college student) but I will gladly give credit due in my presentation at the end of the semester.

I have searched the a few forums and google for help and I cannot seem to find what I am looking for.

Thanks in advance.
brinks56
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Anyone have some free time to help with a school game?

Post by hellow533 on Thu Apr 25, 2013 12:12 am