accidently pentested a financial site

What is right? Is there right? Are you right?

accidently pentested a financial site

Post by cal225 on Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:53 pm
([msg=81151]see accidently pentested a financial site[/msg])

Hey guys, so Im a general computer science student in college, and recently have been teaching myself ethical hacking, hoping to become a professional pentester one day,
Tonight, while learning about Google Dorking, I tested a query.
Low and behold, publicly available SQL dbs with iffy information, I clicked on one (unnamed as they haven't fixed it yet)
Glory be, admin passwords with usernames and emails and phone numbers....
Then I looked up and saw the name of the site it connected to....
Oh shit...
It was a site that sells and buys expensive (redacted)
Just to see if they were that stupid (they were) I GOOGLED their site name with (admin) at the end (not even /admin just a straight google search of their site name and admin).
It took me to their admin login page, first result.......
I was about to walk away and send an email to their support, when for shitz and giggles, I threw a SQL injection or 1=1 at it....
It worked..... On thier ADMIN page, on a site that handles public transactions......
I immediately logged out and fired an email at their support desk informing them of all the flaws I found (and that I didn't fuck with anything)
Did I follow proper white hat procedure?
Anything I should/ shouldn't do in future?
Thanks In advance.
cal225
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: accidently pentested a financial site

Post by limdis on Sun Jun 01, 2014 9:59 pm
([msg=81152]see Re: accidently pentested a financial site[/msg])