Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

General technological topics without their own forum go here

Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

Post by Ramurak on Wed Aug 29, 2012 11:31 pm
([msg=69059]see Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?[/msg])

I know I've done it at least a couple times here...but It's been awhile. Can somebody point me to a resource for doing this in Chrome?
Ramurak
New User
New User
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 22, 2012 8:14 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

Post by wan26 on Thu Aug 30, 2012 12:08 am
([msg=69060]see Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?[/msg])

Just checked with chromium, it's ctrl+shift+i, then the gear at the bottom right [settings] and then 'over ride user agent' there you can pick which one.
User avatar
wan26
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:46 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

Post by tremor77 on Thu Aug 30, 2012 9:04 am
([msg=69062]see Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?[/msg])

There are firefox extensions that allow you to alter this as well.

You could also write your page fetch mechanism in any number of languages, most hackers prefer python.. I have something similar with PHP & cURL, a framework I use to alter browser type, http headers and cookies.

For the ultimate in ease consider getting a full browser with all the tools.
Image
User avatar
tremor77
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 897
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: New York
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

Post by -Ninjex- on Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:10 pm
([msg=69147]see Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?[/msg])

I see this post was made a bit back but figured I would share my input.

Firstly, I believe you probably have found your answer by now, so I just want to share my thoughts.

I think you should just switch to firefox, it is a dominate web browser capable of easy modifications, and has tons of addons.

A lot of these addons are specifically geared for penetration testing, programming, etc.

If you switch to firefox, you can get a addon called user agent switcher, it allows you to change what your browser looks like to any other browser out there, or your own personal browser.
This is the same addon I used to complete one of the realistic challenges where you need a user agent named holy_teacher.

I am aware that google chrome has "extensions" as well, I just feel that they are not as efficient.

Keep in mind that when you download firefox you can modify it by typing about:config in your URL bar.

I recommend if you switch to firefox to type in about:config > search for pipe > find network.http.pipelining.maxsize; and change the number to around 1,000 or so.
See this link for more information on this as well

Just play around in there and you are bound to find some interesting things ;)

Also, I recommend Tor for security purposes, which can also be modified to work through firefox as well.

I am almost sure you could manually configure your proxy settings through google chrome and connect via the tor socks as well.

Hope you switch over, google chrome makes my stomach turn haha!
If you're not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you're determined to learn, no one can stop you.⠠⠵
The absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.
I can explain it for you, but I can't understand it for you.
^(-.^)>
User avatar
-Ninjex-
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1455
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:02 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

Post by tremor77 on Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:13 am
([msg=69172]see Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?[/msg])

Nice and well described reply there ^ - I have to just give stuff away but I dropped a hint at it though, if you really are into pentesting/etc - OWASP Mantra is a superior browser with all the tools built in.
Image
User avatar
tremor77
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 897
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: New York
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

Post by -Ninjex- on Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:15 pm
([msg=69191]see Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?[/msg])

tremor77 wrote:Nice and well described reply there ^ - I have to just give stuff away but I dropped a hint at it though, if you really are into pentesting/etc - OWASP Mantra is a superior browser with all the tools built in.


Hmm, thanks for that post. ^
If you're not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you're determined to learn, no one can stop you.⠠⠵
The absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.
I can explain it for you, but I can't understand it for you.
^(-.^)>
User avatar
-Ninjex-
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1455
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:02 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

Post by wan26 on Fri Sep 07, 2012 1:31 pm
([msg=69219]see Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?[/msg])

Also there are many ways to do this, i remember having to complete a mission quickly here so i used the libcurl library in c++ - the user agent can be what you wish. Using this for a simple client to compare the replies would be an option but obviously not ideal if youre just doing it to browse the net - unless you want to write your own webclient that changes its agent which is not a large task. There's also putty. Firefox is what I use normally, chromium is just an alternative i use for youtube.
User avatar
wan26
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:46 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

Post by -Ninjex- on Fri Sep 07, 2012 4:46 pm
([msg=69222]see Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?[/msg])

wan26 wrote:There's also putty.


Never heard of PuTTY being capable of switching your User Agent.

Only thing possible I can think of is maybe tunneling SSH over HTTP(S)

Maybe you could explain how to do that for us?
If you're not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you're determined to learn, no one can stop you.⠠⠵
The absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.
I can explain it for you, but I can't understand it for you.
^(-.^)>
User avatar
-Ninjex-
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1455
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:02 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

Post by wan26 on Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:10 pm
([msg=69226]see Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?[/msg])

In putty, you could pick raw mode, select port 80, somewebsite 'www.somethingsdfsdsdfs.com'. Then in the session;

GET /index.php HTTP/1.0
From: foo@dog.com
User-Agent: Doggy

lol

Just for messing around or testing, nothing serious.
edit--

And another thing ettercap, I'm not sure if this filter/way will work, as i havent tried it in a while

Code: Select all
if (ip.proto == TCP && tcp.dst == 80) {
   if (search(DATA.data, "Mozilla/5.0")) {
      replace("Mozilla/5.0", "I'mABrowser");  # replaced string is the same length
   
      msg("Filter done\n");
   }
}
User avatar
wan26
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 6:46 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?

Post by -Ninjex- on Fri Sep 07, 2012 7:56 pm
([msg=69232]see Re: Change what browser a webpage thinks you're using?[/msg])

wan26 wrote:In putty, you could pick raw mode, select port 80, somewebsite 'www.somethingsdfsdsdfs.com'. Then in the session;

GET /index.php HTTP/1.0
From: foo@dog.com
User-Agent: Doggy

lol

Just for messing around or testing, nothing serious.
edit--

And another thing ettercap, I'm not sure if this filter/way will work, as i havent tried it in a while

Code: Select all
if (ip.proto == TCP && tcp.dst == 80) {
   if (search(DATA.data, "Mozilla/5.0")) {
      replace("Mozilla/5.0", "I'mABrowser");  # replaced string is the same length
   
      msg("Filter done\n");
   }
}



Where have you been all my life?
If you're not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you're determined to learn, no one can stop you.⠠⠵
The absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.
I can explain it for you, but I can't understand it for you.
^(-.^)>
User avatar
-Ninjex-
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1455
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:02 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron