Hello, and Becoming a "White Hat" questions

General technological topics without their own forum go here

Hello, and Becoming a "White Hat" questions

Post by kdb424 on Wed Dec 22, 2010 5:31 am
([msg=50916]see Hello, and Becoming a "White Hat" questions[/msg])

Hello HackThisSite community. I am somewhat new to the hacking world, and had some questions. But first a little background on me so you may better answer my questions.

Programming languages I have some to a lot of experience in
*Ruby
*Java
*C++(limited)
*python(learning)

Background experience
*Run my own web server (debian 5 http://kdb424.homelinux.com/kdb424)
*Built my desktop, and run gentoo X64 on it most of the time (I have OS X , and Windows XP, and 7 also on it)
*My network is run on a DD-WRG router
*Knowledge of basics in networking hardware and software (SIN ACK, ect)
*Done several challenges a while back on HackThisSite

Other Information
*Specialty is Social Engineering
*Live in the USA
*20 Years of age

Now the questions that I have to ask. I am wanting to learn to become a hacker as a career. I understand that this is a difficult field to get into because of the massive amount of work needed to learn, and keep up with current software (programming languages) and exploits (assuming it's not a 0-day).

Specific questions
*Where should I start looking for information on hacking from a reliable source (other than HackThisSite and affiliates, though they are a great help)?
*What programming languages are best for exploits in most cases (research suggests anything not browser based would be c, and python, though is C++ a good c replacement?)
*Should I look into the social engineering aspect as I understand it is one of the more difficult skills to come by?
*Other than becoming a CEH (Certified Ethical Hacker) are there any ways of proving that I am a reputable person to an employer (and is becoming a CEH worth the money or time other than the skills learned)