Getting Started

General technological topics without their own forum go here

Getting Started

Post by B_Euden on Fri Sep 03, 2010 5:53 pm
([msg=44801]see Getting Started[/msg])

Hello All,

So i've seen all these movies of high class hackers, breaking into code and crytographs etc, and i thought yeah that'd be fun to do. So here I am. Fresh faced and ready to become an elite hacker (after training of course). So! who will mentor me? what do i need to get started? What do i have to learn?

I have some small knowledge of the things i may need to learn as i progress up the ladder of hacking:

Learn and master HTML - I have no idea where to start on this.

Learn and be comfortable with a few programming languages such as C, C#, C++, Java and PHP - im currently learning java and will be moving onto the others once i've mastered it.

Avoid being a Script Kiddie - using other peoples programs without actually knowing the details and whats going on in the background, leaving tracks etc.

Overall i want this to become an interesting hobby, i want to learn the tricks of the trade. I want to be able to be one of the best, hack like a pro (even get a career out of it if im lucky) and be able to eventually teach others like myself who are just starting out. how to do it.

So that said.

Who wants to help?
B_Euden
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Getting Started

Post by Goatboy on Fri Sep 03, 2010 6:15 pm
([msg=44803]see Re: Getting Started[/msg])

I'm going to burst your bubble here.

Nobody is going to mentor you. That crap you see in the movies is just that: crap. There's no elite secret underground where the promising novice goes to become a master. It doesn't work like that. In order to learn, you have to do a lot of work on your own. This means spending nights reading and writing code, instead of hanging out with friends or doing homework.