Java: MATH.random exploit

Discuss how to write good code, break bad code, your current pet projects, or the best way to approach novel problems

Java: MATH.random exploit

Post by Nemo_Sum on Mon Oct 29, 2012 10:17 pm
([msg=70491]see Java: MATH.random exploit[/msg])

I'm new to Java and object oriented programming in general, so I may have bitten off a bit more than I can chew with my current project. I was wondering what you all knew about the MATH.random method. I'm assuming it uses a seed, but I can't find the approximate length of the seeds, or any other details that might be vaguely helpful really. Basically, the program I'm working on simulates a dice roll using MATH.random, but I'd like to hack my program and see if I'm able to predict the outcome of the dice roll before it happens. Ultimately, I'm wondering what security flaws are presented specifically by using MATH.random to generate my rolls. If you have any insights or can direct me to any information that might be useful, I'd really appreciate the help.
Nemo_Sum
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Java: MATH.random exploit

Post by centip3de on Tue Oct 30, 2012 12:56 pm
([msg=70501]see Re: Java: MATH.random exploit[/msg])

Nemo_Sum wrote:I'm new to Java and object oriented programming in general, so I may have bitten off a bit more than I can chew with my current project. I was wondering what you all knew about the MATH.random method. I'm assuming it uses a seed, but I can't find the approximate length of the seeds, or any other details that might be vaguely helpful really. Basically, the program I'm working on simulates a dice roll using MATH.random, but I'd like to hack my program and see if I'm able to predict the outcome of the dice roll before it happens. Ultimately, I'm wondering what security flaws are presented specifically by using MATH.random to generate my rolls. If you have any insights or can direct me to any information that might be useful, I'd really appreciate the help.