Help me with some Java!

Discuss how to write good code, break bad code, your current pet projects, or the best way to approach novel problems

Help me with some Java!

Post by centip3de on Sat Jul 14, 2012 1:32 pm
([msg=68055]see Help me with some Java![/msg])

Hey all,

I'm currently somewhat new to Java, so I appologize if there's an obvious way to do this. Anyway, I'm currently writing a peice of code that I hope will be a graphical front end to GDB because I hate all the other front-ends, it seemed fairly easy yet challenging enough to push me, and I dislike using GDB from the command line (personal preferance). Anywho, I got most of my issues ironed out, except the whole, inputing to GDB part. I can currently get GDB to run, or any othere bash command, but once GDB is running, I can no longer input to it. It seems as though the process I created closes right after I issue one command, which is the opposite of what I want happening... Anywho, hope there's an easy fix! My code is as below, oh and thanks for your help!

Code: Select all
package com.gdb;
import java.io.*;
import com.gui.Window;
import com.gui.newCommand;
public class IO implements Runnable{
    private int lineNumber = 1;
    public Runnable runner = new Runnable()
    {
        public void run()
        {
            if(newCommand.customCommand.equals("clear"))
            {
                Window.textArea.setText("");
                Window.lineNumber = 1;
                return;
            }
            try
            {
                File file = new File("/");
                Process p = null;
                Runtime r = Runtime.getRuntime();
                p = r.exec("bash -c " + newCommand.customCommand, null, file);
                if(p != null)
                {
                    BufferedReader reader = new BufferedReader(new InputStreamReader(p.getInputStream()));
                    String line = reader.readLine();
                    while(line != null)
                    {