Laptop Keyboard to Desktop PC

Discuss how to write good code, break bad code, your current pet projects, or the best way to approach novel problems

Laptop Keyboard to Desktop PC

Post by canbees on Tue Mar 27, 2012 7:06 am
([msg=65238]see Laptop Keyboard to Desktop PC[/msg])

So my screen died i dont have that much money to spend so i bought a USB-cable(A) and thought *topic*.
I looked around the net for something but didnt find anything concrete.

So my idea is that i will just write to the Output of the USB cable and connect it to the desktop. Well that will be easy to do i think but how does the desktop recognize that its a keyboard?, or just does it work as an Interrupt in the hardware?
I've had some experience with assembler and hardware programming(CycloneII) so i was thinking just going at it that way.
I've written Interrupthandlers for keyboard and other I/O.

ty
ps. will look rly awesome if it works :D

pss. Putty?
canbees
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Laptop Keyboard to Desktop PC

Post by centip3de on Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:46 am
([msg=65239]see Re: Laptop Keyboard to Desktop PC[/msg])

canbees wrote:So my screen died i dont have that much money to spend so i bought a USB-cable(A) and thought *topic*.
I looked around the net for something but didnt find anything concrete.

So my idea is that i will just write to the Output of the USB cable and connect it to the desktop. Well that will be easy to do i think but how does the desktop recognize that its a keyboard?, or just does it work as an Interrupt in the hardware?
I've had some experience with assembler and hardware programming(CycloneII) so i was thinking just going at it that way.
I've written Interrupthandlers for keyboard and other I/O.

ty
ps. will look rly awesome if it works :D

pss. Putty?