In need of guidance

Discuss how to write good code, break bad code, your current pet projects, or the best way to approach novel problems

In need of guidance

Post by costapo on Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:37 pm
([msg=64177]see In need of guidance[/msg])

Hey guys..
I am new here, and I am intrested in programming and coding
I am actually planning to join the corresponding university next year so I am studying pretty hard at this time, I have already got the basic knowledge of programming due to "high school" (you know, here in greece we learn some type of BASIC I think.. or is it the real name?) anyway, for the past weeks I have been intrested in batch files. Basically I wanted to mess with stuff within an enviroment I have access to, so I thought anything that envolves cmd and batch files should be great!

So, what should I do? is batch what I should focus on? or I'll have to wait for more advanced knoledge on programming languages?

Thanks,
sorry for the long post,
I also failed english class as you guessed
costapo
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: In need of guidance

Post by limdis on Tue Feb 07, 2012 5:57 pm
([msg=64178]see Re: In need of guidance[/msg])

Hey welcome to HTS.

There are a TON of threads here filled with suggestions to this very topic. But considering that you are getting ready to head to university, I wouldn't focus directly on one language. Stay flexible and look into different ones until you decide what you would like to get into. Different languages come with their pros and cons of what you are trying to do. Take some time to look around the forums or the net and find out what different languages there are and see which one you would like to test out. There are tutorials for each language out there as well to help you get started. For example, this was posted a few days ago for Ruby: viewtopic.php?f=36&t=8323

I'll step aside now for everyone else to defend their preferred language to the bloody end lol