C# Login

Discuss how to write good code, break bad code, your current pet projects, or the best way to approach novel problems

C# Login

Post by ezah on Mon Mar 01, 2010 8:37 pm
([msg=35958]see C# Login[/msg])

I just started learning C#, i have pretty good programming concepts after about 7 years of experience so i should be able to do this, but i cant. How would i go about logging into HTS with HttpWebRequest?

I assume it uses cookies so i tried importing those, not sure if that's right, i've messed quite a bit with it but it still says im not logged in. At times i do see my username in the source, not logged in, but i do see it and other times i don't.

Here's a super basic part of my code and hopefully one of you can find a mistake i may be making? programatically or with the way HTS logs in.

Code: Select all
CookieContainer cooks = new CookieContainer;
            HttpWebRequest webR = (HttpWebRequest)WebRequest.Create("http://www.hackthissite.org/missions/prog/2");
            webR.CookieContainer = cooks;
            webR.Method = "Post";
            // tried both get and post methods.
            HttpWebResponse webRs = (HttpWebResponse) webR.GetResponse();
            System.IO.StreamReader str = new System.IO.StreamReader( webRs.GetResponseStream());

and dont comment about my naming conventions, i know i just wanted something quick to show :p
ezah
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: C# Login

Post by BhaaL on Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:26 pm
([msg=35970]see Re: C# Login[/msg])

You need to use a different url to log in, store the cookie, and then submit your answer. The cookie container is correct for the latter, but you still need to go to login first.
And you'll need to write your HTTP to the request stream you obtain from the HttpWebRequest object before getting the response.
BhaaL
Poster
Poster

Post by ezah on Tue Mar 02, 2010 6:04 pm
([msg=35980]see Re: C# Login[/msg])