PHP Website Vulnerabilities

Discuss how to write good code, break bad code, your current pet projects, or the best way to approach novel problems

PHP Website Vulnerabilities

Post by rametta on Sun Feb 22, 2009 4:26 pm
([msg=18425]see PHP Website Vulnerabilities[/msg])

Hi,

I'm new to this forum and would like to learn as much as I can after my website got hacked and was used for illegal activities. I have a login page on my site that I designed in PHP and a few weeks ago I was notified that my website had been hacked and the permissions of my files on my server had all been changed. (not sure if that was done through php or not...)

Here's my question...What steps should I take in protecting my website from further hackings. I recently changed my login script, added encryption, max length, remove unwanted characters, etc.

Is there a chance this can happen again? and if so how can I prevent it? I'm new to PHP so I'm not sure if it was through my PHP form or another method. Thanks for your help!

Rametta
rametta
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: PHP Website Vulnerabilities

Post by sidebottom on Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:18 pm
([msg=18430]see Re: PHP Website Vulnerabilities[/msg])

Is there a chance this can happen again?

In short? Absofreakin'lutely.

Is it your server or one that you rent from something like web.com?

To protect yourself, try to write the most secure code possible. Know how you can be attacked so you can work to protect yourself from those attacks.

This link is a good start:
http://www.securityfocus.com/infocus/1864
sidebottom
Poster
Poster

Post by rametta on Sun Feb 22, 2009 5:32 pm
([msg=18431]see Re: PHP Website Vulnerabilities[/msg])

Ya its a server I rent. I'm not even exactly sure how it happened. In the end there was a bunch of folders/files on my server, every file that existed had a random permission (some set as 777)