For those new to hacking, a word of advice.

Discuss how to write good code, break bad code, your current pet projects, or the best way to approach novel problems

For those new to hacking, a word of advice.

Post by Akelo on Tue Jul 22, 2008 12:38 pm
([msg=7999]see For those new to hacking, a word of advice.[/msg])

First off, I'm new to hackthissite.org, but I'm lovin' it. Second, I have NEVER looked at hacking/cracking literature seriously (aside from buying a book then letting it gather a nice layer of dust). I haven't broken into any sites, or caused any massive system failures for any system...but hey...I'm still young.
This is a post for the new guys out there, and I still count myself amongst you. I am a self employed web developer. Learned everything I needed from books on html,css, and php, and practiced until I was able to make websites up to par of what people wanted. During that time, had to pickup xml, and of course sql (mysql) to work with database driven websites. I've NEVER tried to break sites, but as soon as I made my account I was thrilled with the basic challenges (and realistic ones) that were thrown at me. I burned through a good number of them with little effort, and on the ones I got stuck on, had a damn good chuckle at the obvious nature of it.
Learn to create something, rather than how to destroy it. That knowledge goes hand in hand with each other. I had to learn about sql injection, xss vulnerabilities, amongst many other issues just from web based programming. I can make some damn nice sites, and now, I'm THINKING in a different way when I try to break them, but I still use the same knowledge base.