Programming languages

Discuss how to write good code, break bad code, your current pet projects, or the best way to approach novel problems

Programming languages

Post by thehackertoyou on Sat Mar 23, 2013 5:12 pm
([msg=74690]see Programming languages[/msg])

So i'm pretty new to computer security and I recently started learning python. I was just wondering, what can I do with python practically? Because right now it just seems like all I can do is simple math equations. And how useful is it with hacking? Thanks in advance. ;)
thehackertoyou
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Programming languages

Post by 0phidian on Sat Mar 23, 2013 5:35 pm
([msg=74691]see Re: Programming languages[/msg])

thehackertoyou wrote:I was just wondering, what can I do with python practically?

Everything. Once you learn programming in any language you are only limited by your imagination. I remember thinking the same sorta thing when I first started programming, wondering why I was learning 500 different ways to print helloworld and do simple math. Once you get farther into programming though you will realize how important the simple concepts are. The best way to get your programming skills along is to practice. Just pick some random projects and code them. If you cant figure out how to do something just google it.

One of the advantages of python is that it has a ton of built in libraries to just just about anything.
python 3 library
python 2 library

Another big advantage to python is it has an interpreter(like idle or ipython) so you can quickly run some code to make a quick calculation or find the length of a string without having to save or compile anything.
Python is used for alot of security tools, especially for things like crafting packets(scapy). Like I said, really you can make anything in python, or any other language, brute forcer, packet sniffer, hex editor, sqli tool, vuln scanner ect.
0phidian
Poster
Poster

Post by thehackertoyou on Sat Mar 23, 2013 8:56 pm