I actually just switched...

Random things go here

I actually just switched...

Post by -Ninjex- on Sun Feb 24, 2013 4:50 am
([msg=74070]see I actually just switched...[/msg])

I never thought I would see this day coming...
I just switched my primary browser from Firefox to Google Chrome.

My reason was that after looking at my running processes, I seen Firefox being rude and not sharing any memory.
It was taking up 251MiB of memory, which is too large imo.

I switched to Chrome and noticed it takes up around 40-60MiB, but it also uses two processes of Chrome while running.
However, this is much less than the opposed Firefox.

I like the speeds of Chrome much better, however I am not used to the layout with all of the settings, as it is much different.
I will more than likely flip flop between browsers for certain tasks.

-- Sun Feb 24, 2013 4:55 am --

And that didn't last long... I should have waited longer and watched more carefully. After opening only 2 tabs. One for hackthissite, one for google, and another for youtube, I noted 6 Chrome processes of around 50MiB each which is around 300MiB.... Fuck em' both xD
Last edited by -Ninjex- on Sun Feb 24, 2013 8:58 am, edited 2 times in total.
If you're not willing to learn, no one can help you. If you're determined to learn, no one can stop you.⠠⠵
The absence of evidence is not evidence of absence.
I can explain it for you, but I can't understand it for you.
User avatar
-Ninjex-
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1230
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2012 8:02 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: I actually just switched...

Post by NightQuest on Sun Feb 24, 2013 7:59 am
([msg=74074]see Re: I actually just switched...[/msg])

I miss the days of Firefox 1 & 2, when 40-60MB was average ram usage.
Image
User avatar
NightQuest
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Feb 22, 2009 6:03 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: I actually just switched...

Post by mShred on Sun Feb 24, 2013 11:54 am
([msg=74078]see Re: I actually just switched...[/msg])

NightQuest wrote:I miss the days of Firefox 1 & 2, when 40-60MB was average ram usage.

Even FF 3. I've started using chrome a lot more now. I've got about ten tabs opened up at any one point in time and it's only taken up about 70megs total.
Image

For those about to rock.
User avatar
mShred
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 1686
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 4:22 pm
Blog: View Blog (2)


Re: I actually just switched...

Post by 3vilp4wn on Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:11 am
([msg=74217]see Re: I actually just switched...[/msg])

I have so little RAM that both FF and GC are about equally laggy, so I use FF.
*sigh*
512 Megs if you must know...
Do not mistake understanding for realization, and do not mistake realization for liberation
Evil Ninja Hackers
???
٩(͡๏̯͡๏)۶

1A4EAMboaXpgvUSmtRbVRqbfJrbyuGhyoo
User avatar
3vilp4wn
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2013 2:05 am
Location: The darkness.
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: I actually just switched...

Post by weekend hacker on Wed Feb 27, 2013 2:08 pm
([msg=74239]see Re: I actually just switched...[/msg])

NightQuest wrote:I miss the days of Firefox 1 & 2, when 40-60MB was average ram usage.

I only had 112MB ram in those days, which is also the reason why moo interfaces with HTS for some adminish tasks.
Switching between irc and firefox could take 5 minutes on that ancient crappy machine.
<Yoda> if someone says something i don't like, i ban him, ban whoever defends him, and then ban the witnesses...
User avatar
weekend hacker
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:39 pm
Location: 127.0.0.1
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: I actually just switched...

Post by Assassian360 on Wed Feb 27, 2013 4:11 pm
([msg=74240]see Re: I actually just switched...[/msg])

-Ninjex- wrote:My reason was that after looking at my running processes, I seen Firefox being rude and not sharing any memory.
It was taking up 251MiB of memory, which is too large imo.


I normally have enough tabs open for Firefox to be sitting on 1+ GB of RAM usage these days. So I wouldn't really say that is very much. (unless you only have 2GB of RAM or less, then it would be more of an issue XD)
Assassian360
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:37 am
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests