subnet

Random things go here

subnet

Post by Mars7411 on Mon Feb 27, 2012 4:56 am
([msg=64639]see subnet[/msg])

Does anyone know how to change a subnet?
Mars7411
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:09 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: subnet

Post by pretentious on Mon Feb 27, 2012 7:10 pm
([msg=64642]see Re: subnet[/msg])

It's not something I've had to do often enough to remember but I think it's done generally in the same way as an IP address.
Goatboy wrote:Oh, that's simple. All you need to do is dedicate many years of your life to studying security.

IF you feel like exchanging ASCII arrays, let me know ;)
pretentious wrote:Welcome to bat country
User avatar
pretentious
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:48 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: subnet

Post by Mars7411 on Tue Feb 28, 2012 11:47 pm
([msg=64653]see Re: subnet[/msg])

pretentious wrote:It's not something I've had to do often enough to remember but I think it's done generally in the same way as an IP address.

Nope.
Mars7411
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:09 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: subnet

Post by pretentious on Wed Feb 29, 2012 4:16 am
([msg=64656]see Re: subnet[/msg])

ok, how about you provide some context
Goatboy wrote:Oh, that's simple. All you need to do is dedicate many years of your life to studying security.

IF you feel like exchanging ASCII arrays, let me know ;)
pretentious wrote:Welcome to bat country
User avatar
pretentious
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 455
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:48 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: subnet

Post by ghost107 on Wed Feb 29, 2012 2:50 pm
([msg=64659]see Re: subnet[/msg])

A subnet is to devide your network in subnetworks, this usually is done the the Network Administrator, changing your subnet means you are entering in another network, or your computer will not fit in any subnetworks.

Calculating a subnet(for class C):
Lets say this is your netwotrk 192.168.0.0/28, what does this mean the network size is 28.lets change it into Bits.
Code: Select all
192.168.0.0 = 11000000.10101000.00000000.00000000
28 = 11111111.11111111.11111111.11110000 = 255.255.255.11110000 = 255.255.255.240

As you saw in the last value there is only 4 bits of 1 remaining, the number of subnets will be 2^4(2 at power of 4) = 16, 256/16 = 16(where 2 is the network first and last addresses , network and broadcast).
So the networks will be:
Code: Select all
192.168.0.1-192.168.0.14
192.168.0.17-192.168.0.30
...

For a class B:
Lets say this is your netwotrk 192.168.0.0/28, what does this mean the network size is 28.lets change it into Bits.
Code: Select all
192.168.0.0 = 11000000.10101000.00000000.00000000
28 = 11111111.11111111.11111111.11110000 = 255.255.11111111.11110000 = 255.255.255.240

The last 2 values will be 12 bits so 2^12 = 4096 which means 4096 subnetworks, a subnetwork size will be 256*256/4096 = 65536/4096 = 16(where 2 is the network first and last addresses , network and broadcast)
Code: Select all
192.168.0.1-192.168.0.14
192.168.0.17-192.168.0.30
...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Subnetwork
Another way to find your subnetwork broadcast address just do an AND with your IP and Subnet Mask.

Usually this is the basics of the computer networking(this teaches at the first course of computer networking).
ghost107
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 7:57 am
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests