Which linux distribution would you recommend to a beginner?

There are many different operating systems; which one will you choose?

Which linux distribution would you recommend to a beginner?

Post by Conkmasta-Flex on Fri Jun 20, 2008 3:13 pm
([msg=5359]see Which linux distribution would you recommend to a beginner?[/msg])

I have a partitioned (80% of my storage is directed to OS X and 20% is directed to Windows XP) Intel based Macbook Pro that is working out great for me. However, I would like to try my hand at a linux-based operating system. I will be scrapping my OS X-Windows partition and re-partitioning to accommodate for the linux os. As I am fairly new to this, I would like a system that is user friendly, but I also don't want to be spoon fed. My goal is to learn.

So far I know of Fedora, openSUSE, DebianGNU/Linux and Ubunto. Is there anything I should know before jumping head first into this? Suggestions? Advice?

Also, I hope to eventually spend most/all of my time on the new operating, but I would also like to ease the transition. If you were me, where would you split your resources? Thanks.
Conkmasta-Flex
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Which linux distribution would you recommend to a beginner?

Post by bjvanwash on Sat Jun 21, 2008 1:19 am
([msg=5405]see Re: Which linux distribution would you recommend to a beginner?[/msg])

In my opinion, I found that Fedora Core was pretty user friendly. When I started using it, I didn't know much at all about linux. I learned quite a bit on my own by going to my nearest bookstore, surfing the web, and by hands on experience with my dual boot of XP and FC3. I'm sure there are other distros that might be better, but like I said, in my opinion FC3 worked well for me before trying something new. Good luck!
bjvanwash
Experienced User
Experienced User

Post by Conkmasta-Flex on Wed Jun 25, 2008 5:01 pm
([msg=5753]see Re: Which linux distribution would you recommend to a beginner?[/msg])