Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI

There are many different operating systems; which one will you choose?

Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI

Post by harithacats on Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:31 am
([msg=42217]see Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI[/msg])

I get this error (click this link to see the screen capture of the error )
i'm using the .iso image
http://s751.photobucket.com/albums/xx152/harithacats/?action=view&current=b4error.jpg
thanks
harithacats
New User
New User
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 8:18 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI

Post by Goatboy on Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:25 am
([msg=42221]see Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI[/msg])

That looks like a proper installation to me. You don't use Linux much do you?

Type "startx" and hit Enter. Should give you a desktop with a cursor and everything.
Assume that everything I say is or could be a lie.
1UHQ15HqBRZFykqx7mKHpYroxanLjJcUk
User avatar
Goatboy
Expert
Expert
 
Posts: 2806
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 9:35 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI

Post by acantho on Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:06 am
([msg=42231]see Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI[/msg])

Yep what Goatboy said, I think there used to be another option of starting up when you got to that point think it was that you typed Flux though I've tried that on mine and nothing happens - might just have been on earlier distros.
acantho
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2010 6:32 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI

Post by insomaniacal on Tue Jul 20, 2010 8:19 pm
([msg=42312]see Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI[/msg])

Indeed, there's a simpler, cleaner, GUI that comes with BackTrack 4. Can't remember what's its called, though I do recommend it over KDE.
It's not who votes that counts, it's who counts the votes
insomaniacal.blog.com
User avatar
insomaniacal
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1210
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 10:21 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI

Post by FunctionCreep on Wed Jul 21, 2010 3:55 pm
([msg=42357]see Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI[/msg])

Also since you don't seem all that familiar with backtrack just to let you know that networking is disabled by default.

run
Code: Select all
/etc/init.d/networking start


to get interfaces up. You will need to do that everytime you boot your system up, there's a tutorial on how to make it permanent. Google it.

Also WICD daemon, required by WICD, isn't run by default either so go over to /usr/lib/wicd (if I remember correctly otherwise "locate wicd") and ./wicd-daemon.py That should help you get wireless access a bit more easily (if you're using a wireless AP) rather than using iwconfig directly.
"I hope for nothing. I fear nothing. I am free." ~ Nikos Kazantzakis
User avatar
FunctionCreep
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 18, 2010 6:19 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI

Post by insomaniacal on Wed Jul 21, 2010 7:54 pm
([msg=42387]see Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI[/msg])

I'm assuming /etc/rc.local exists on BackTrack, just add that line of code into it and it'll get run at start-up.

Figured I'd save you a Google search :)
It's not who votes that counts, it's who counts the votes
insomaniacal.blog.com
User avatar
insomaniacal
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1210
Joined: Sun May 24, 2009 10:21 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI

Post by LoGiCaL__ on Wed Jul 21, 2010 8:22 pm
([msg=42390]see Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI[/msg])

Code: Select all
dhclient eth0
worked permanently for me. That's assuming you have a wired connection.
User avatar
LoGiCaL__
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1060
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 12:33 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI

Post by harithacats on Sun Aug 15, 2010 7:23 am
([msg=43777]see Re: Any one using backtrack 4?I have trouble installing it on VI[/msg])

Bump
ok.wanna thank all of you guys.those are very useful information for me .thanks...
harithacats
New User
New User
 
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2009 8:18 am
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Operating Systems

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests