Im Really New to all of this coding and hacking and all that

There are many different operating systems; which one will you choose?

Im Really New to all of this coding and hacking and all that

Post by Bailey18 on Wed Jul 29, 2009 11:54 pm
([msg=27649]see Im Really New to all of this coding and hacking and all that[/msg])

What Operating system would I use to learn to hack? Like the good hacking...
Bailey18
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Im Really New to all of this coding and hacking and all that

Post by Wootz on Thu Jul 30, 2009 12:38 am
([msg=27650]see Re: Im Really New to all of this coding and hacking and all that[/msg])

You could use any OS to hack, it doesn't really matter, but for what it's worth I learned a lot more through using *nix than I did through windows. If I were you I'd make a LiveCD and run off of that for a while, see how you like it.

Fair warning, though, if you do go to *nix (I'd start with Ubuntu or Linux Mint) assume you know nothing. That'll help you get into the learning mindset (I had a friend who treated linux the same as windows, boy was he PISSED) and make sure you learn how to use the shell effectively, you'll be glad you did.
Wootz
New User
New User

Post by Tentra on Thu Jul 30, 2009 2:27 am
([msg=27655]see Re: Im Really New to all of this coding and hacking and all that[/msg])

Bailey18 wrote:Like the good hacking...

What do you mean by "good hacking"?
Tentra
Poster
Poster

Post by godofcereal on Thu Jul 30, 2009 3:43 am
([msg=27657]see Re: Im Really New to all of this coding and hacking and all that[/msg])

Are you comfortable with changing your OS? If not then stick with windows.
If you want to change then get Ubuntu, you can download a program called Wubi that will instal everything for you.
Im off, last year of school and all, I had something longer but char limit fucked that up. So yeah, had a good run here. Thanks for the memories. Thanks to the staff and users.

Best regards, your posting whore,