Page 1 of 1

Do you really need to compile all of your drivers? linux

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:35 pm
by mnchlx
I installed the backtrack 3 vm and am looking to install the drivers for my network adapter. I have noticed this in the past as well, do we really need to compile every driver? Or is there an easier way to go about things like this?

Re: Do you really need to compile all of your drivers? linux

PostPosted: Mon Jul 20, 2009 7:42 pm
by relictus
mnchlx wrote:I installed the backtrack 3 vm and am looking to install the drivers for my network adapter. I have noticed this in the past as well, do we really need to compile every driver? Or is there an easier way to go about things like this?


You usually don't have to compile drivers, just modprobe them. Btw, I think there is backtrack4 now.

Re: Do you really need to compile all of your drivers? linux

PostPosted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:14 pm
by mnchlx
relictus wrote:
mnchlx wrote:I installed the backtrack 3 vm and am looking to install the drivers for my network adapter. I have noticed this in the past as well, do we really need to compile every driver? Or is there an easier way to go about things like this?


You usually don't have to compile drivers, just modprobe them. Btw, I think there is backtrack4 now.


modprobe? Sorry for my ignorance.

Re: Do you really need to compile all of your drivers? linux

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:22 am
by mischief
http://linux.die.net/man/8/modprobe

with bt4 more drivers should be included.

Re: Do you really need to compile all of your drivers? linux

PostPosted: Fri May 28, 2010 4:57 am
by hrasdt
Depending on the kernel and autodetection, you should have support out of the box. Linux is quite easy to get drivers for these days, usually they're modules for your kernel, or an apt-get/emerge/yum away.

Re: Do you really need to compile all of your drivers? linux

PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 6:07 pm
by acantho
There is indeed a final version of BT4 I run it on a VMware virtual machine, still dont really know what I'm doing but I'm very slowly figuring the basics out. There are acctually a few decent tutorials out there as regards installing it to a virtual machine and getting the VMware tools installed.
I have a script I got from, from VMware that starts teh networking think it comes when you install the VMware tools, but I cant be bothered to start up BT just now- sleepy time is coming soon, but if you need it post saying so or PM me and I'll get it to you. I remember reading something about networking not starting automatcally in BT 4 as in many cases you would not want DHCP starting, depending on what you are doing with BT. Hope that is of some help