*nix difference

There are many different operating systems; which one will you choose?

*nix difference

Post by eoae on Sat Oct 04, 2008 12:54 am
([msg=13093]see *nix difference[/msg])

Hi, I have a question. There may be another post like this somewhere, anyways... :D

I want to know what is the main difference between all this different *nix. There is Linux, OpenSUSE, FreeBSD, Mac... etc. and all the different "flavors" of linux. What is the difference between all this different *nixes besides the GUI/Appearance??

PS: I'm still a noob :(
"The hardest thing in the world to understand is the income tax." - Albert Einstein
"Government is an association of men who do violence to the rest of us." - Leo Tolstoy
eoae
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: *nix difference

Post by tgoe on Sat Oct 04, 2008 2:52 pm
([msg=13117]see Re: *nix difference[/msg])

GNOME/KDE/Xfce are sets of programs that create a desktop environment and aren't integrated with the underlying OS. FreeBSD+KDE vs Linux+KDE are largely identical from the desktop point of view. The differences are in the development process / licensing, kernel and userland tools (the commands you execute from a terminal). The Linux kernel and the GNU userland are separate projects developed independently that are combined by yet another project to create a GNU/Linux "flavor". The FreeBSD kernel, userland, packaging and distribution are handled by one project. The BSD Licensed code allows it to be modified and used in other OSes / programs without having to release the source code. This is where OSX gets its userland. From the userland point of view, the commands from the different projects serve the same purpose and work basically the same way. But there are differences: Different Linux flavors may ship with different versions of GNU utilities, the BSD version of 'foo' doesn't have the '-bar' option or vice versa, etc.
tgoe
Contributor
Contributor

Post by eoae on Sun Oct 05, 2008 2:51 am