linux the only operating system for proggraming/hacking?

There are many different operating systems; which one will you choose?

linux the only operating system for proggraming/hacking?

Post by joeyrules666 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 4:07 pm
([msg=78053]see linux the only operating system for proggraming/hacking?[/msg])

hello,
i currently run on windows 7.is it true that for programming/ hacking windows just doesnt cut it because it is not openscource and that linux is the only way to go . is this realy true?
im a real noob . so sorry for this real noobish quistion i just want to get my facts straight.
thanks in advance,
joeyrules666
joeyrules666
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: linux the only operating system for proggraming/hacking?

Post by hellow533 on Tue Nov 05, 2013 5:35 pm
([msg=78054]see Re: linux the only operating system for proggraming/hacking?[/msg])

joeyrules666 wrote:hello,
i currently run on windows 7.is it true that for programming/ hacking windows just doesnt cut it because it is not openscource and that linux is the only way to go . is this realy true?
im a real noob . so sorry for this real noobish quistion i just want to get my facts straight.
thanks in advance,
joeyrules666

You can do a lot with windows. It's just with Linux, you could do a lot more.
“Teach me how to hack!”
"What, like, with an axe?"
hellow533
Contributor
Contributor

Post by centip3de on Tue Nov 05, 2013 6:02 pm
([msg=78055]see Re: linux the only operating system for proggraming/hacking?[/msg])

hellow533 wrote:You can do a lot with windows. It's just with Linux, you could do a lot more.

You can do the same things on both Linux and Windows, it's just with Linux it's so much easier than it is with Windows (gotta love that CLI).
Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs, and the Universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the Universe is winning. -Rick Cook
centip3de