accessing computers across subnets in a network ?

What's the best way to setup a home network? Why should I care about BGP?

accessing computers across subnets in a network ?

Post by pranav2794 on Sun Nov 20, 2011 8:41 am
([msg=62972]see accessing computers across subnets in a network ?[/msg])

hi guys is there any way to do this ? I see computers on my network visible to me but what if I want to see computers across subnets in the same network. Is there any hack to do this ?
pranav2794
New User
New User
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 3:14 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: accessing computers across subnets in a network ?

Post by tremor77 on Wed Nov 23, 2011 3:03 pm
([msg=63025]see Re: accessing computers across subnets in a network ?[/msg])

would need to know a little bit more about the network infrastructure to come up with specific details pertaining to your situation. IP range scanning comes to mind. Depending on your environment you may not be able to 'see' computers via your typical 'my network places' GUI environment... you may also need to break out of any user policy roles your PC and username are locked into, depending on what type of network is being run.
Image
User avatar
tremor77
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 910
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:00 pm
Location: New York
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: accessing computers across subnets in a network ?

Post by pranav2794 on Thu Nov 24, 2011 1:22 pm
([msg=63039]see Re: accessing computers across subnets in a network ?[/msg])

i desperately want to break out of subnets, tell me what I have to do. Ya u r true i am not able to see the computers across subnets in my network through my GUI.
My network is a class B university network starting with 172.16.x.x
and there are subnets like
172.16.12.x, 172.16.16.x,172.16.20.x, i.e after a gap of 4 in third node....

plz help me , tell me the whole guide how to do it


I shall be very thankful to u for this !!!

-- Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:57 pm --

somebody please help this poor guy !!!!!!!!!!!
pranav2794
New User
New User
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 3:14 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: accessing computers across subnets in a network ?

Post by jazzhandz on Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:57 pm
([msg=64896]see Re: accessing computers across subnets in a network ?[/msg])

pranav2794 wrote:My network is a class B university network starting with 172.16.x.x

Typically, subnets are fairly secure in segregating the network. To communicate with other subnets, routers are explicitly configured to share routing information about each subnet via routing protocols such as RIP, OSPF, EIGRP, etc. If you can't ping a host in another subnet, the only thing you can do is change the router configs. If "university network" means you don't have access to the equipment, then you're out of luck as far as I know.
jazzhandz
New User
New User
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 08, 2012 5:26 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests