Need help with connection with friend.

What's the best way to setup a home network? Why should I care about BGP?

Need help with connection with friend.

Post by areuz on Mon Aug 25, 2014 1:34 am
([msg=82962]see Need help with connection with friend.[/msg])

My friend and I have always had connection problems and we notice it the most when we try to play COD together and just can't join each other's session. We have tried taking down our router's firewalls and off our ISP's firewall, DMZ, I have tried personally some ports (he hasn't). I'm not sure what the problem is, I've contacted my ISP several times and they just can't help. So any help is appreciated. Both of our NAT types are Open and connectivity to the internet is solid. :( Still really confused in the situation.
areuz
New User
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 1:27 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Need help with connection with friend.

Post by pretentious on Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:21 am
([msg=82967]see Re: Need help with connection with friend.[/msg])

im not really familiar with cod multiplayer but I'll take a swing with some general trouble shooting
if you're both on the same lan can you ping each other? that will probably answer some questions.
if you're on remote networks, idk lol
Goatboy wrote:Oh, that's simple. All you need to do is dedicate many years of your life to studying security.

IF you feel like exchanging ASCII arrays, let me know ;)
pretentious wrote:Welcome to bat country
User avatar
pretentious
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Wed Mar 03, 2010 12:48 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Need help with connection with friend.

Post by cyberdrain on Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:57 am
([msg=82971]see Re: Need help with connection with friend.[/msg])

Remote networks also include a ping usually. If the NAT types are both Open, there shouldn't be trouble connecting. Then again, I've seen problems even if the NAT types were Open. Some things: the bandwidth might be throttled, some router is having problems or you should both redo the port forwarding. Remember that if you have two devices (e.g. a modem and a router) you have to port forward the right ports on both devices. Usually this only needs to be done on whatever computer hosts the server side, but I've seen people having problems if not both boxes were correctly port-forwarded. UPnP will not cut it in that case.
Free your mind / Think clearly
User avatar
cyberdrain
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:58 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Need help with connection with friend.

Post by tripbeam on Mon Aug 25, 2014 2:40 pm
([msg=82976]see Re: Need help with connection with friend.[/msg])

Yes uasually when you (or another) have a strict NAT type that person with a srict NAT type will have trouble joinning other lobbes and give the people trying to jon him a hard time to join
tripbeam
Experienced User
Experienced User
 
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 8:52 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Need help with connection with friend.

Post by cyberdrain on Mon Aug 25, 2014 3:23 pm
([msg=82981]see Re: Need help with connection with friend.[/msg])

tripbeam wrote:Yes usually* when you (or another) have a strict NAT type that person with a strict* NAT type will have trouble joining* other lobbies* and give the people trying to join* a hard time

True. However, in this case it's an Open NAT (as stated), meaning that usually this shouldn't be a problem.
Free your mind / Think clearly
User avatar
cyberdrain
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:58 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Need help with connection with friend.

Post by alan on Mon Aug 25, 2014 4:28 pm
([msg=82983]see Re: Need help with connection with friend.[/msg])

Sounds like an easy task to do OP. Ill help you program it. At least a prototype. Then you can improve it or change it if you like. Ill do it when i come home from work.
Is my signature cool enough for you?
alan
New User
New User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 8:58 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Need help with connection with friend.

Post by cyberdrain on Mon Aug 25, 2014 4:44 pm
([msg=82985]see Re: Need help with connection with friend.[/msg])

alan wrote:Sounds like an easy task to do OP. Ill help you program it. At least a prototype. Then you can improve it or change it if you like. Ill do it when i come home from work.

Are you sure this is the right thread or did you mean to post it on this one?
Free your mind / Think clearly
User avatar
cyberdrain
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:58 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Need help with connection with friend.

Post by alan on Mon Aug 25, 2014 4:49 pm
([msg=82986]see Re: Need help with connection with friend.[/msg])

Yep i f-ed up... Im on my phone... Sorry

-- Mon Aug 25, 2014 11:58 pm --

Well... About your problem op... I had a similar problem with joining games and ive found out my problem was this. Open networks and connections in windows and see if you have more than one connection. My problem was when i installed VirtualBox it made a virtual connection for virtual machines and the game i was playing for some reason found that connection instead of my actuall lan connection. So maybe thats your problem too.
Is my signature cool enough for you?
alan
New User
New User
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 8:58 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Need help with connection with friend.

Post by cyberdrain on Mon Aug 25, 2014 6:51 pm
([msg=82991]see Re: Need help with connection with friend.[/msg])

alan wrote:Yep i f-ed up... Im on my phone... Sorry

Ah, no problem, just trying to help.
Free your mind / Think clearly
User avatar
cyberdrain
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1109
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:58 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Need help with connection with friend.

Post by areuz on Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:13 pm
([msg=83058]see Re: Need help with connection with friend.[/msg])

I asked ISP again, they answered that we were on the same server on their end? And that if we lived in the nearby area (we do) that the same server problem would be it and the only way to fix was a static IP? any way i change the server? or get a free ip change (ISP charges $10 a month for static IP)
areuz
New User
New User
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2014 1:27 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Next

Return to Networking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests