Network Hacked [Speed reduced]

What's the best way to setup a home network? Why should I care about BGP?

Network Hacked [Speed reduced]

Post by thefytre on Fri Feb 07, 2014 8:03 am
([msg=79344]see Network Hacked [Speed reduced][/msg])

I am a student of college. In our college there is a Wi-Fi network which is encrypted with WPA password. Now, most of the students know the password. In our college, NEBERO is used. Nebero is a authentication panel used in various colleges and workplace. What happened that when we open browser it redirects us to nebero login panel where we can login and get the internet access. But some of us find that connection to https:// is possible without login and download speed can be increased without logging in. :D

Now the problem is that someone had done something on the network and he has blocked all of us :evil: from accessing the https:// connection directly and we can't increase the speed. So, I used Wireshark and it shows router solication and neighbor solication. So, how to get rid of these. In our college Cisco routers are used. I know there is RA guard but the Wi-Fi admin doesn't take our things seriously. So please help on this.
thefytre
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Network Hacked [Speed reduced]

Post by limdis on Sat Feb 08, 2014 11:01 am
([msg=79372]see Re: Network Hacked [Speed reduced][/msg])

Let's go over this.

thefytre wrote:Wi-Fi network which is encrypted with WPA password...students know the password...NEBERO is used

Alright.

thefytre wrote:But some of us find that connection to https:// is possible without login and download speed can be increased without logging in.

Not exactly. If proxies are not configured correctly you can use the SSL option (https) to circumvent the security settings (aka the blocked websites). If you see a speed increase at all it should be very minor.

thefytre wrote:blocked all of us :evil: from accessing the https://

Your admin woke up.