Is my pc on the botnet?!?

The constant threat: viruses, trojans, spyware, ... the list goes on

Is my pc on the botnet?!?

Post by nerdysmurf on Wed Feb 29, 2012 7:00 pm
([msg=64667]see Is my pc on the botnet?!?[/msg])

I often get warnings on my comp that "windows media and networking" is using 100% of one or more of my cpu's, even if i was not running anything that would reasonably use networking. this seemed to me that my pc might have some malware/ virus on it. does this sound to you like a reasonable explanation for the warning boxes? if so, what should i do about it?
nerdysmurf
New User
New User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:05 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Is my pc on the botnet?!?

Post by limdis on Wed Feb 29, 2012 8:16 pm
([msg=64669]see Re: Is my pc on the botnet?!?[/msg])

Hmm, well first thing I suggest you do is download Spybot S&D. Here: http://spybot-download.net/
Update it, unplug your net connection and run it under admin privileges. Been using it for years, picks up a lot of stuff some main line AVs don't.

Next make sure your dont have any file sharing/torrent clients running full time. If you are seeding a ton of things it could whore you usage.

Also, check your processes that are being ran under task manager to see if any one program is acting up.
"The quieter you become, the more you are able to hear..."
"Drink all the booze, hack all the things."
User avatar
limdis
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1401
Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2010 5:45 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Is my pc on the botnet?!?

Post by LoGiCaL__ on Wed Feb 29, 2012 10:57 pm
([msg=64674]see Re: Is my pc on the botnet?!?[/msg])

In addition to spybot S&D I'd suggest d/l malwarebytes from cnet and combofix from bleepingcomputer.com just for peace of mind . I have seen them get rid of some nasty stuff that retail AV scanners overlook. Make sure to start your windows in safemode while scanning.

A little more description of your network setup might also be helpful.
User avatar
LoGiCaL__
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1062
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 12:33 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Is my pc on the botnet?!?

Post by nerdysmurf on Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:07 pm
([msg=64710]see Re: Is my pc on the botnet?!?[/msg])

thanks, I'll try spybot S&D and malware bytes.
nerdysmurf
New User
New User
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2012 8:05 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Is my pc on the botnet?!?

Post by LoGiCaL__ on Sat Mar 03, 2012 3:37 am
([msg=64714]see Re: Is my pc on the botnet?!?[/msg])

nerdysmurf wrote:thanks, I'll try spybot S&D and malware bytes.


Safe Mode..Safe Mode...Safe Mode/

If you find anything, turn off your system restore, restart, and turn it back on.
User avatar
LoGiCaL__
Addict
Addict
 
Posts: 1062
Joined: Sun May 30, 2010 12:33 pm
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Is my pc on the botnet?!?

Post by tgoe on Sat Mar 03, 2012 6:49 am
([msg=64721]see Re: Is my pc on the botnet?!?[/msg])

This is a point that I think can't get stressed enough. Signature, heuristic-based, what-ever scans from any *one* vendor should be thought of as a net instead of a wall. If you rely solely on "AV", you could still get caught by malware.
User avatar
tgoe
Contributor
Contributor
 
Posts: 661
Joined: Sun Sep 28, 2008 2:33 pm
Location: q3dm7
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Malware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests