Academic Question

The fear of every surveillance society: citizens protecting their own privacy with strong cryptography

Academic Question

Post by hidden_test on Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:19 pm
([msg=50875]see Academic Question[/msg])

Hi
This is a mathematical problem that has been bothering me
I am new to cryptography and this question is about the mathematical background required
Please see these slides
http://rapidshare.com/files/437713784/F ... cation.pdf

I would like to discuss some aspects of these notes
First question is, in page 4 what does does it mean by: "The stuff in parenthesis doesn't amount to much (though it is fun to think about how much there is)."

And also, the number of steps for multiplication is 2n^2. i think it should be more. Could anyone please explain this to me?

If I can understand this I am hoping i can move further in my study of cryptography.

Thanks in advance. 8-)
hidden_test
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Academic Question

Post by nathandelane on Thu Dec 23, 2010 4:06 pm
([msg=50996]see Re: Academic Question[/msg])

PDF referenced: http://noether.uoregon.edu/~sadofsky/fa ... cation.pdf