Question about dual-boot

Discuss the security implications of the various flavors of linux and unix

Question about dual-boot

Post by NoobAnonKS on Tue Jan 01, 2013 9:53 am
([msg=71930]see Question about dual-boot[/msg])

Hey guys. Planning on installing ubuntu tonight, along side win7. The last time I tried to dual boot linux and windows, I ran into a huge problem, though. I was trying to install opensuse alongside xp and used the built in partitioning / dualboot options during the linux setup. Suse then took over my entire hdd! Is there a way to prevent this from happening? Do I need to set up the partition in windows first?
And also, I heard that the newest version of ubuntu has built in ad/spyware. Is there a way to delete that crap?

Thanks for your time guys. I'm a linux noob, except for some screwin around with redhat back in the day.
NoobAnonKS
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: Question about dual-boot

Post by centip3de on Tue Jan 01, 2013 1:07 pm
([msg=71933]see Re: Question about dual-boot[/msg])

NoobAnonKS wrote:Hey guys. Planning on installing ubuntu tonight, along side win7. The last time I tried to dual boot linux and windows, I ran into a huge problem, though. I was trying to install opensuse alongside xp and used the built in partitioning / dualboot options during the linux setup. Suse then took over my entire hdd! Is there a way to prevent this from happening? Do I need to set up the partition in windows first?

No, you don't need to, but it does make the whole process of installing the OS quite a bit quicker. However, if you're unsure whether you'll like and want to keep Linux on your computer, try using Wubi for this. Wubi sets everything up for you, and installs Ubuntu just like any other program on your Windows computer. If you don't want to keep Linux, instead of reformatting your drives, you can just go to Add/Remove Programs > Wubi > Uninstall, and it's gone.