What's a Good Version of Linux for Basic Hacking

Discuss the security implications of the various flavors of linux and unix

What's a Good Version of Linux for Basic Hacking

Post by TheSavageSquid on Sat Aug 28, 2010 2:51 pm
([msg=44471]see What's a Good Version of Linux for Basic Hacking[/msg])

I'm pretty new at hacking and wanted to know what would be a good version of Linux for learning and basic hacking, I'm just kinda toying around with this stuff and have no real intention of using it for anything really bad. I think it'd be something fun to learn and possibly be useful or come in handy sometime. I've used RedHat Linux before because my dad is a database administrator and uses that a lot at work so we installed it on an old laptop. I'm currently running Windows 7 on my personal laptop but wanted to also install Linux on the side so I can run either one. Any suggestions for what would be a good kind of Linux for what I'm going for right now?
TheSavageSquid
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: What's a Good Version of Linux for Basic Hacking

Post by Bren2010 on Sat Aug 28, 2010 3:14 pm
([msg=44472]see Re: What's a Good Version of Linux for Basic Hacking[/msg])

You can pretty much use any operating system for the kind of casual hacking your talking about. While it would be good to get familiar with the more popular Linux flavors like Ubuntu, FreeBSD, RedHat etc., it's not required, per say. But for most of the hacking you'll learn here, you just need a good browser, like Firefox or Chrome, and an internet connection. ;)
Bren2010
Poster
Poster

Post by PinkFloyd22 on Sat Aug 28, 2010 3:58 pm
([msg=44474]see Re: What's a Good Version of Linux for Basic Hacking[/msg])