Need help installing Linux via command line

Discuss the security implications of the various flavors of linux and unix

Need help installing Linux via command line

Post by Goatboy on Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:17 pm
([msg=20651]see Need help installing Linux via command line[/msg])

Just a little background info:

I've been using Ubuntu for about 4 months now. I DBAN'd my old XP computer and put Ubuntu on it from the Live CD. I know most of the basic commands, and can navigate around directories pretty well.

That said, here's my issue:

About a week ago my dad gave me this OLD laptop. It had '98 on it, but I DBAN'd that as well. I love DBAN for some reason... Anyways, I wanna put Damn Small Linux on it. I choose DSL simply because the hardware likely won't be able to support Ubuntu or any other modern distro. I believe the HD is 10 GB and there's like 64 MB of RAM.

The laptop has a built-in floppy drive, and supports an external CD drive that runs at a whopping 4X SPEED! However, the system doesn't support booting from a CD. I have a working copy of tomsrtbt (http://www.toms.net/rb/) and I am currently booted to that on the laptop.

This is where I am stuck. I need to do one of two things. I either need to boot into a floppy and copy the contents of the DSL Live CD to the HD -OR- Since I can connect the laptop to my modem/router, I want to install DSL from the Internet to my HD. I know both of these are possible, I just can't find any good guides for DSL through Google or by any other means. There are a few guides for Redhat and one other, but not DSL.

I am basically doing this for a few reasons. The first is for fun. I love old systems and messing with them. The second is to have a laptop with Linux on it for coding. And third, I figure I'll at least learn something.