windows to linux, which distribution to use?

Discuss the security implications of the various flavors of linux and unix

windows to linux, which distribution to use?

Post by Orion001 on Wed Oct 01, 2008 1:04 am
([msg=12920]see windows to linux, which distribution to use?[/msg])

hey guys, i have used windows all my life, i have a bit of programming knowledge (hardly any on linux though) and I now would like to get a linux distribution of some sort. I have 2 pc's, one running Vista, the other using XP (but its an old, slow machine).

Details that I would like for the distribution to use, a error-free installation, meaning i dont want to have to manually change files etc, just a (GUI) installation that has no bugs.
I would like to run it from a live CD or Dual Boot, but i dont know which type to get, i see things like 'i686' and 'x86_64' but have no clue what they mean :S
As i am a newb to linux, i would also like it to be easy to use when i start (eg. with GUI's), but also allow me enough room as i expand in my programming knowledge
From this I thought PClinuxOS or Fedora was a good choice?

I hope im not asking 4 too much :S any help/suggestions are greatly appreciated :)

Last edited by Orion001 on Wed Oct 01, 2008 1:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Orion001
New User
New User

Blog: View Blog (0)

Re: windows to linux, which distribution to use?

Post by old_red_boots on Wed Oct 01, 2008 1:28 am
([msg=12921]see Re: windows to linux, which distribution to use?[/msg])

i would recomennd you ubuntu. It's very easy for begginners ( i have it) it is a dvd live. if yor computer doesn't have dvd reader maybe you can find it in cd also but i'm not sure.
BTW,i think the numbers of the distros x64 and all that things refer to the type of machine you have (32 or 64 bits) and the number x86 i dont know if it is only a version number or if it refers to the processor of the machine. Anyway, i recommend you to ask in the forums of that distribution.