Telnet on Windows Vista

The ubiquitous operating system, discussion of its (many) flaws, and how to mitigate the risks of those flaws

Telnet on Windows Vista

Post by beagle on Fri Jul 04, 2008 12:31 pm
([msg=6542]see Telnet on Windows Vista[/msg])

Something that infuriates me about Windows Vista is that they disabled telnet. Luckily, you can re-enable it using these steps:
1) Go to the "Computer" Icon on your desktop.
2)Select "Uninstall or change a program" from the top menu.
3) Select "Turn windows features on or off" on the side bar.
4) Wait for a little while while it loads.
5) Find the folder called "Telnet Client"
6) Click the checkbox
7) Wait some more
8)Exit out of everything and go to the command prompt. Type in "telnet". The Microsoft telnet service should come up.
If this doesn't work, just PM me. You'll get a full refund ;)
Sincerely,
011000100110010101100001011001110110110001100101
beagle
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:37 pm
Location: Chico, CA
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Telnet on Windows Vista

Post by Jimmy_Riddle on Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:02 am
([msg=6964]see Re: Telnet on Windows Vista[/msg])

Or download PuTTy and use that instead... :geek:
Jimmy_Riddle
New User
New User
 
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2008 5:24 am
Blog: View Blog (0)


Re: Telnet on Windows Vista

Post by beagle on Wed Jul 09, 2008 10:57 am
([msg=6970]see Re: Telnet on Windows Vista[/msg])

That works too ;)
011000100110010101100001011001110110110001100101
beagle
Poster
Poster
 
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Jul 02, 2008 2:37 pm
Location: Chico, CA
Blog: View Blog (0)



Return to Microsoft Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests