Theoretical Wireless laundry machine penetration

Data that travels over the air and how to protect (or decipher) it

Theoretical Wireless laundry machine penetration

Post by Theory5 on Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:36 pm
([msg=36740]see Theoretical Wireless laundry machine penetration[/msg])

Hi I am a student at Johnson & Whales University (goin for my BS in network engineering), and they have some contract with this company that leases them washers and dryers. But these are no ordinary washers and dryers, instead of coin operation they have a RFID chip reader. As far as i can tell the whole system is wireless, and it is also truly a system from hell. For the last two trimesters I (and everybody else) have been getting free laundry service due to machine malfunctions. And it isnt limited to my hall, EVERYBODY on campus has been getting free service for two trimesters! It was great, until they came in and screwed with the machines. For two weeks they had massive problems, such as unresponsiveness, washing machines only running for 20 minutes instead of the normal 35-40 minutes, etc etc. Then the finally fixed everything and now everybody needs to load money on their RFID cards from this machine that never works. So I use my debit card to put 30 bucks on my card, and then after I do that I realize I still need to use the card loading machine to enter the code. And as usual the damn machine declines my code. And the people at tech support say I will be contacted LATER!
FYI the website is automaticlaundry.com or something and they have a special site for putting money on your card if you are a JWU student. http://www.revaluemycard.com/johnsonandwhales
So now on to business. Hypothetically, what tools and software would I need to hack the wireless service and poke around in the software to reconfigure it to do what i want (such as work correctly)? They use some software to configure the machines, I have no Idea of the name though.